Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:46.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Labour and Employment

Dated 6th February 2001

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five-Year Plan (2002-2007), it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Labour and Employment. The terms of reference and composition of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

I. Terms of Reference

The Steering Committee will be taking an overview and giving general guidance for working out the actual plans, programmes and policy guidelines for the 10th Plan. The terms of reference of The Steering Committee are as follows:

  1. To review the projections of labour force and employment made by various studies and agencies to firm up Statcwise figures of projections of labour force and work opportunities that should torm the basis of 10* Plan exercises.
  2. To project State-wise unemployment among educated youth and suggest the strategies for providing work opportunities to the entrants to labour force.
  3. To take an overview of the existing framework of the labour Policy and social Security measures and to suggest appropriate strategy in the context of emerging needs of the market-oriented economy so as to ensure healthy employer-employee relations and promote productivity.
  4. To review the role of Government in Labour relations with respect to workers in Public Sector and Government Sector.
  5. To propose a strategy to reduce the gap with regard to administered social security system and welfare measures between the organised and unorganised labour.
  6. To review programmes for labour welfare so as to suggest a broad-based social security system for the labour and the unorganised self-employed persons.
  7. To suggest appropriate programmes for promoting occupational health and safety for the workers.
  8. Any other issue concerning labour and employment policy, with the consent of Chairman of the Steering Group.

II. The composition of the Steering Committee

1. Dr. S.P. Gupta, Member. Planning Commission Chairman
2. Principal Adviser (LEM), Planning Commission Member
3. Secretary. Labour Member
4. Secretary, Rural Development Member
5. Secretary, Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation Member
6. Secretary, Small Scale and Agro and Rural Industries Member
7. Secretary, Social Justice and Empowerment Member
8. Director General National Sample Survey Organisation (NSSO). Member
9. Secretary, Labour (Assam) Member
10. Secretary. Labour (West Bengal) Member
11. Secretary. Labour (Uttar Pradesh) Member
12. Secretary. Labour (Gujarat) Memberl
13. Secretary. Labour (Kerala) Member
14. Director General. FICCI Member
15. Secretary General CII Member
16. Shri Umraomal Purohit Member
17. Shri L.P. Anand Permanent Member of ILO Governing Board. Member
(or Sh. Vineet Virmani, Council of Indian Employers. 15, Goif Links. New Delhi as an alternate)  
18. Prof. S. Sundaram, Delhi School of Economics Member
19. Chairman. KVIC Member
20. Adviser (LEND Planning Commission Member-Secretary

The Steering Committee may co-opt such official(s) or non-official(s) as member(s) of the Committee as may he considered necessary-. The Steering committee may also constitute Working Gioup(s). if so desired.

The expenditure on TA/DA of official members in connection with the meetings of the Committee will be borne by the parent Department /Ministry to which the official belongs. The non-official members of the Committee will be entitled to TA/DA as permissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India and this expenditure will be borne by the Planning Commission.

The Steering Committee, will work through a set of Working Groups which will

be given 3 to 4 months' time to report on the respective areas. The Steering Committee, after considering the reports of the Working groups. will submit its report to Planning Commission by the end of November 2001.

The Labour. Employment and Manpower Division of the Planning Commission will provide the Secretariat for the Steering Committee.