Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:47.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Energy Sector

Dated 3rd November 2000

It has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on the Energy Sector for the Tenth Plan. The terms of reference of the Committee will be as follows:

  1. To assess the sectoral energy demands in the next 15-20 years on all-India as well as on regional basis.
  2. To assess domestic energy resources endowments and production capacity for the year 2006-07 and 2011-12
  3. To suggest the optimum level of primary energy mix for various fuels for the year 2006-07 and for 2011-12.
  4. To recommend an optimal fuel-mix for different end-use sectors for the year 2006-07 keeping in view the domestic availability, inter-modal transport priorities, environmental implications and costs of energy imports.
  5. To suggest measures for assuring energy security for the country.
  6. To suggest further measures for encouraging private sector participation based on the experience gained so far.
  7. To review the steps taken for efficient production and use of energy and recommend measures for optimum efficiency in these areas including Demand Side Management.
  8. To suggest policy for development of hydel and nuclear power in the context of energy security for the country.
  9. To suggest measures for accelerated development of New A Renewable Sources of Energy keeping in view the depleting nature of fossil fuels and their adverse impact on environment.
  10. To recommend a suitable regulatory mechanism for the energy sector.
  11. To examine the role of government in the Energy Sector in view of the emerging market orientation of the sector.

The composition of the Steering Committee will be as under:

  1. Member (Energy), Planning Commission - Chairman
  2. Principal /Adviser (Energy), Planning Commission
  3. Secretary, Ministry of Power
  4. Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum ct Natural (5as
  5. Secretary, Ministry of Coal
  6. Secretary, Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources
  7. Secretary, Department of /Atomic Energy
  8. Secretary, Ministry of Finance/Banking
  9. Secretary, Ministry of Surface Transport
  10. Secretary, Ministry of Industry
  11. Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development
  12. Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development
  13. Secretary, Ministry of Commerce
  14. Chairman, Railway Board, Ministry of Railways
  15. Secretary, Ministry of Environment A Forests
  16. Chairman, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission
  17. Chairman, ICICI/IDBI
  18. Shri T.L. Sankar, Principal, A SCI, Hyderabad
  19. Dr.R.K. Pachauri, Director, Tata Energy Research Institute
  20. Shri Tarun Das, Secretary General, CII
  21. Shri Amit Mitra, Secretary General, FICCI
  22. Joint /Adviser (Petroleum), Planning Commission - Member Secretary

The Committee will finalise its report by the 31st January, 2001. The Committee may co-opt other experts as and when deemed necessary. Non-officials shall be entitled to TA/DA as per permissible to Grade I officers of Government of India and the expenditure will be borne by Planning Commission. The TA/bA of Government and Public Sector officials will be borne by their respective organizations.