Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:48.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Voluntary Sector

Summary Record of First Meeting

Dated 5th Febrary 2001

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07), it has been decided to set up the following Steering Committee for the active involvement of Voluntary Sector in the development process:

1. Dr. D.N. Tiwari
Member, In-charge of Voluntary Action, Planning Commission, New Delhi
2. Secretary, Planning Commission, New Delhi.
3. Principal Adviser (Energy and VAC), Planning Commission, New Delhi
4. Secretary
Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan New Delhi
5. Secretary
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Shastri Bhavan New Delhi
6. Secretary
Department of Women and Child Development, Shastri Bhavan New Delhi
7. Secretary
Department of Economic Affairs, North Block New Delhi
8. Secretary
Department of Science and Technology, Institutional Area New Mehrauli Road New Delhi
9. Secretary
Department of Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan New Delhi
10, Secretary
Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy, Red Cross Building New Delhi
11. Director General,
Forests Ministry of Environment and Forests CGO Complex, Lodhi Road New Delhi
12. Secretary
Ministry of Tribal Affairs Shastri Bhavan New Delhi
13. Secretary
Department of Elementary Education and Literacy, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
14. Secretary
Department of Culture, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
15. Director General
CAPART Zone-V-A (Core C) India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road New Delhi- 110 003
16. Secretary
Department of Planning, Government of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow
17. Secretary
Department of Planning, Government of Gujarat Gandhinagar-382010
18. Secretary
Department of Planning, Government of Maharashtra Mumbai
19. Secretary
Department of Planning, Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad-500022
20. Secretary
Department of Planning, Government of Assam Guwahati
21. Dr. Rajesh Tandon
Executive Director, PRIA 42, Tughlakabad Institutional Area, New Delhi- 110 016
22. Shri Shankar Ghosh
National Foundation for India (NFI), India Habitat Centre Zone -IV-A,
Upper Ground Floor Lodhi Road, New Delhi- 110 003
23. Shri Nanaji Deshmukh
Deen Dayal Upadhayay Research Institute, Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh)
24. Shri Harnath Jagawat,
Director, N.M. Sadguru Water and Development
Foundation Village Chosala, Post Box 71, Dahod-389151 (Gujarat)
25. Shri Deep Joshi
Programme Director PRADAN (Professional Assistance for Development Action)
3, Community Centre, Niti Bagh, New Delhi -110 049
26. Shri Vijay Mahajan BASIX,
403, Nirmal Towers, Dwarakapuri Colony Punjagutta, Hyderabad - 500082
27. Shri Satish Girija
Nav Bharat Jagriti Kendra P.O. Box 37, Village Amrit Nagar, Korra Hazaribagh-825 301
28. Dr. Kaushal Kumar
General Secretary Utthan - Centre for Sustainable Development and Poverty Alleviation
18-A, Auckland Road Allahabad-211001
29. Shri Jagdananda
Centre for Youth and Social Development, A-70, Shaheed Nagar Bhubaneswar-751 007
30. Swami Nityamuktananda
Rama Krishna Mission Ashram PO Cherra Bazar, Cherrapunji East Khasi Hills Distt. Meghalaya
31. Shri Harsh Mander
Country Representative Action Aid, 71, Uday Park New Delhi - 110049
32. Mr. H.R. Purshotam Raj
Director Programmes
Business and Community Foundation Upper Ground Floor,
Himalaya House 23, Kasturba Gandhi Marg, New Delhi -110001.
33 Shri Ashutosh Tripathi
AHEAD India Foundation
342, Sector 21, Gautam Budha Nagar NOIDA (Uttar Pradesh)
34. Shri Anil Singh
Voluntary Action Network of India (VANI), B-52, Shivalik Colony New Delhi- 110017
35. Dr. Swapan Garain
Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Post Box No. 8313, Deonar Mumbai - 400 088
36. Prof. Rajendra Prasad
Centre for Rural Development and Technology, IIT, Hauz Khas New Delhi - 110016.
37. Dr. N.N. Mehrotra
Scientist, NICDAP
Central Drug Research Institute P Box 173, Lucknow -226001
38. Shri Y.N. Chaturvedi
Sanskar Shiksha Samiti, C-II/131,Moti Bagh, New Delhi
39. Shri Lalit Kumar
Business Economist, A-68, Yojana Vihar Delhi-110092
40. Deputy Adviser (VAC), Planning Commission New Delhi Member-Secretary

The Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

  1. to review the policies, procedures, guidelines of the government and other organisations for involving voluntary organisations in different programmes / schemes and suggest alternative policies and simplified procedures / guidelines for involvement of the voluntary sector.
  2. to review the existing arrangements for capacity building of the voluntary sector and suggest measures to make VOs / NGOs more effective for good governance, service delivery and managing newer challenges of development.
  3. to examine the existing partnership levels between voluntary sector and private sector and PRIs / Municipalities and recommend appropriate steps to facilitate and enhance such partnerships.
  4. to review the level of people's participation and volunteerism in development programmes and suggest measures for reviving / galvanising the spirit of volunteerism and people's participation in development, particularly, suggesting ways for effectively utilizing services of volunteers, through VOs / NGOs, in the management of disasters such as earthquakes, floods, famines and cyclones etc.
  5. to review the existing methods for monitoring and evaluation of schemes / programmes implemented through VOs / NGOs and suggest improvements in methodologies for effective monitoring and evaluation.

The Chairman of the Steering Committee may, if necessary, constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area / problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Steering Group will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry/Organization to which the officers belong. Non-Official members will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I Officers of the Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.