Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:50.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Irrigation Sector

Dated 21st November 2000

In connection with the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan and having regard to the inter-dependence as well as linkages with the various Ministries/Departments concerned with the Irrigation Sector, it has been decided to constitute the Steering Committee with the following composition and terms of reference:

1. Member (Water Resources), Planning Commission Chairman
2. Secretary Ministry of Water Resources Member
3. Secretary\Deptt. of Agriculture and Cooperation,
Ministry of Agriculture or his nominee but not below the rank of Joint Secretary.
4. Secretary,
Deptt. of Rural Development,
Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment or his nominee but not below the rank of Joint Secretary.
5, Secretary,
Ministry of Environment and Forests or his nominee but not below the rank of Joint Secretary
6. Principal Adviser (Agri.), Planning Commission
7. Chairman, Central Water Commission, New Delhi Member
8. Managing Director, NABARD, Mumbai Member
9. Director, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi Member
10. Director General, Water and Land Management Institute, Govt. of Maharashtra, Aurangabad Member
11. Chairman and MD, WAPCOS, New Delhi Member
12 Chairman. Central Ground Water Board, MOWR Faridabad Member
13 Vice-Chairman, Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd., Gandhinagar (Gujarat) Member
14 Prof. S.T. Patil, Associate Professor, WALM1 Dharwad (Karnataka) Member
15. Chairman, All the Working Groups set up for the Tenth Five Year Plan on
a. Major and Medium Irrigation Programme
b. Minor Irrigation Programme
c. Command Area Development Programme
d. Flood Control Programme
e. Private Sector and Beneficiaries Participation programme
16 Prof. Ashok Gulati,
Institute of Economic Growth, University of Delhi, Delhi
17 Adviser (Water Resources), Planning Commission
19. Shri Buruju Rajendra Reddy
H.No. 1-3-127/4/A, Munni Nilayain, Rajendra Nagar, Mahaboobnagar - 509001 (Andhra Pradesh)
20. Shri Rajendra Singh,
TarunBn Bharat Sangh, Bheekampura Kishori via Thanagazi-301022, Alwar (Rajasthan)
21. Shri Anil C. Shah,
Chairman Development Support Centre,
2, Prakniti Apartments, Opp. Red Rose Restaurant Near H.L Commerce College Road,
Navrangpura, Ahmedabad-380009
22. Shri A Mohana Krishnan,
48-AK Block 11th Main Road, Anna Nagar, Madras - 600040

Terms of Reference

  1. To review the progress of work of each of the Working Groups set up for the Tenth Five Year Plan for Irrigation Sector.
  2. To guide the Working groups on approach, strategy, objectives and targets of all irrigation sector programmes under Tenth Five Year Plan and provide appropriate direction to them.
  3. To consider the final reports of the Working Groups for Irrigation Sector and take a view on the recommendations of the Working Groups in connection with formulation of strategy for irrigation Sector during the Tenth Five Year Plan and make suitable recommendations to the Planning Commission for further consideration.

The Steering Committee will devise its own procedure for business and may co-opt any other Member(s), if considered necessary.

The expenditure of the Members on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Steering Committee will be borne by their respective Departments/Ministries/Organisations. However, the expenditure in case of non-official Members will be borne by the  Planning Commission as per rules and regulations of TA/DA as applicable to Group 'A' officers of the Government of India.

The Steering Committee shall submit its recommendations within two months after receiving the final reports of all the Working Groups set up for Irrigation Sector.