Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:51.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Empowerment of SCs, OBCs and Minorities

Dated 8th December 2000

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007), it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on the 'Empowerment of SCs, OBCs and Minorities' with the following Composition:

1. Dr. D.N. Tiwari, Member,
In-charge of BCW, Planning Commission, New Delhi -110 001.
2. Secretary
National Commission for SCs and STs
5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi - 110003.
3. Secretary
National Safai Karamchari Commission
4th Floor, Lok Nayak Dhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi - 110003.
4. Secretary
Minority Commission
5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi -110003.
5. Secretary
National Commission for Backward Classes
Trikoot - 1, Bhikaji Kamaji Place, R.K. Puram, New Delhi -110066.
6. Secretary
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
7. Secretary
Department of Elementary Education and Literacy
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
8. Secretary
Department of Secondary Education and Higher Education,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
9. Secretary
Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy
Red Cross Building, New Delhi - 110001.
10. Secretary
Department of Family Welfare
Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
11. Secretary
Department of Agriculture and Cooperation
Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
12. Secretary
Deparlment. of Rural Development
Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
13. Secretary
Ministry of Science and Technology
Mehrauli Road, New Delhi - 110016.
14. Secretary
Ministry of Labour, Shram Shakti Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
15. Secretary
Department of Women and Child Development
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.
16. Commissioner
Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities
40-A.M.Jha Marg, Allahabad -211002.
17. Secretary
Environment and Forests CGO Complex,
Lodi Road, New Delhi - 110003.
18. Chairman
Maulana Azad Education Foundation
Talimabad, Sangam Vihar, New Delhi -110062.
19. Addl. Chief Secretary
Deptt. of Social Justice and Empowerment
Govt. of Gujarat, Gandhinagar - 382010.
20. Secretary
Department of SC and BC Welfare
Govt. of Punjab, Chandigarh - 160001.
21. Secretary
Department of Social Welfare (SCOBC and Minorities Development),
Govt. of Maharashtra Mantralaya, Mumbai - 400032.
22. Principal Secretary
Department of Social Welfare
Government of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow -(226001)
23. Shri L. S. Rao
Director General
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar National Institute of Social Sciences, Mhow (Indoor), Madhya Pradesh.
24. Justice Lok Nath Prasad (Retd.)
Bihar State Backward Classes Commission, Bailey Road, Near New Secretariat Patna.
25. Shri S. Hamid
Jamia Hamdard University, Tughalakabad NewDelhi - 110063.
26. Dr. Mata Din
Deptt. of Contemporary Social Studies and Law
Dr. Ambedkar Central University, Agra.
27. Shri A.C. Das (Ex-MP)
Bhimatanki, Laxmi Sagar Road
Bhubaneswar - 751009, Orissa.
28. Representative,
Ambedkar Foundation
25, Ashoka Road New Delhi - 110001.
29. Shri P.S. Krishrtan
National Action Forum for Social Justice
52, Aram Park, Krishan Nagar, Delhi - 110051.
30. Dr. A. M. Kurup
Consultant (ID)
Environment Resources Research Centre
550, Gandhipuram, Srikarianm, Thiruvanthapuram - 695017.
31. Prof. D.N. Dhanagre
University of Kolhapur, Kolhapur, Maharashtra
32. Prof. Gopal Guru
Department of Sociology
University of Pune, Pune Maharashtra
33. Secretary
Harijan Sewak Sangh, Kingsway Camp, Delhi.
34. Dr. Kaushal Kumar
General Secretary
Utthan, 18- A, Auckland Road, Allahabad.
35. Secretary
Rama Krishna Mission, Bellur Math Calcutta.
36. Shri T.K. Sarojini
Adviser (BC),
Planning Commission, New Delhi - 110001.

The Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

  1. to review the existing approach, strategies and priorities; the on-going policies and programmes for empowering SCs. OBCs and Minorities in the Ninth Five Year Plan; and suggest if necessary, alternative strategies, priorities, policies and programmes to accelerate the empowering process;
  2. to assess the effectiveness of implementation of' Special Component Plan' (SCP) for SCs and suggest specific measures and mechanisms to ensure that the 'population - proportionate' funds flow from other development sectors both at the Central and State levels and the Special Central Assistance (SCA) to SCP is utilized effectively;
  3. to assess the impact of the on-going economic reforms and progressive / liberalization of economy on the socio-economic conditions of SCs, OBO and Minorities, especially their economy and suggest effective strategies to cope up with the situation:
  4. to review the effectiveness of the existing legislations relating to SCs. OBCs and Minorities and their enforcement and suggest corrective measures, where necessary:
  5. to review the effectiveness of the existing Institutional Arrangements for implementation of policies and programmes relating to welfare, protection and development of SCs. OBCs and Minorities and suggest improvements, if necessary;
  6. to assess the role of NGOs and the status of devolution of powers and resources to Panchayti Raj and Local Self Government Bodies as per the 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendments and suggest specific measures for their effective involvement in the planning process; and
  7. to suggest an approach and necessary strategies, priorities, policies, and programmes along with physical and financial targets in pursuing the
  8. Commitment of Empowering the Socially Disadvantaged Groups (SCs, OBCs and Minorities) dining the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07):

The Chairman of the Steering Committee, if necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area / problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The Steering Committee shall submit its Report positively by 31 May 2001.

The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meeting of the Steering Committee will be borne by the parent Department / Ministry Organization to which the officers belong. Non-official members will be entitled to TA / DA as admissible to Grade-I Officers of the Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.