Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:51.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Social Welfare

Dated 6th December 2000

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07), it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee in the field of Social Welfare with the following composition:

1. Dr. D.N. Tiwari, Member,
In-charge of Social Welfare,
Planning Commission, New Delhi.
2. Secretary
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
3. Secretary
Deptt. of Women arid Child Development
Shastri Bhavan New Delhi.
4. Secretary
Ministry of Health, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi.
5. Secretary
Department of Family Welfare
Nirman Bhavan New Delhi.
6. Secretary
Department of Education.
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
7. Secretary
Ministry of Labour,
Shram Shakti Bhavan, New Delhi.
8. Secretary,
Department of Rural Development,
Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.
9. Secretary
Ministry of information and Broadcasting
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
10. Secretary
Ministry of Science and Technology,
New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi.
11. Secretary
Ministry of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation
Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi.
12. Member - Secretary
Human Rights Commission
Sardar Patel Bhavan, New Delhi.
13. Shri J,K. Banthia,
Registrar General of India and Census Commissioner
2-A. Mansingh Road, New Delhi -110011.
14. Shri Sharda Prasad,
National Crime Records Bureau, East Block-7, R.K. Puram, New Delhi.
15. Secretary
Department of Social Welfare,
Government of West Bengal, Writer's Building, Calcutta - 700001.
16. Secretary
Department of Social Welfare
Government of Gujarat, Gandhinagar - 382010.
17. Secretary.
Department of Social Welfare.
Government of Uttar Pradesh, Sachivalaya Bhavan, Lucknow - 226001.
18. Secretary,
Department of Social Welfare,
Government of Andhra Pradesh, Secretariat, Hyderabad - 500022.
19. Secretary,
Department of Social Welfare, Government of Manipur, Imphal
20. Prof. R. Srinivasa Murthv,
Prof. and Head, Deptt., of Psychiatry,
National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Science, Bangalore - 560029.
21. Shri P.K. Mukhopadhyay,
Department of Social Work,
3, University Road, Delhi -110007.
22. Prof. Vijaya Lakshmi
Department of Social Welfare,
Andhra University, Vishakapatnam.
23. Dr. S.D. Gokhale,
Community Aid and Sponsorship Programme,
1779/84, Sadashipur Grutrayee Smarak, Bharat Scounts Ground, Pune - 41I030.
24. Smt. Rekha Mammen.
Tata Institute of Social Sciences.
Post Box No. 8313, Deonar, Mumbai - (400 088).
25. Dr. Balu Sankaran,
Orthopedic Consultant,
St. Stephen Hospital, Tis Hazari Marg, Delhi -110054.
26. Prof. S.C. Handa,
Prof. and Head,
Quality Improvement Programme Centre, University of Roorkee, Roorkee -247667.
27. Shri Javed Abidi
Executive Director
National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled,
25 Yusuf Sarai, Green Park Extension, New Delhi - 110016.
28. Dr. Kaushal Kumar
General Secretary, Utthan,
18- A, Auckland Road, Allahabad
29. Dr. A.B. Bose,
Ex- Adviser, Planning Commission,
B-200, Yojana Vihar. Delhi -110092.
30. Dr. Hira Singh,
Ex-Director, NISD,
183-Munirka Vihar, New Delhi - 110067.
30. Shri Lal Advani
Indian Association for Special Education and Rehabilitation.
A-70 DDA Flat, Saket, New Delhi - 110017.
32. Smt. Mita Nandy,
Spastic Society of Northern India,
General Rai School Houz Khas, New Delhi - 110016.
33. Smt. T.K. Sarojini,
Adviser ( SO and WP), Planning Commission, New Delhi
Member Secretary

The Terms of References of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

  1. to review the existing approach, strategies and priorities; the on-going policies and programmes in the area of social welfare during the Ninth Five Year Plan and suggest if necessary, alternative strategies, priorities, policie4 and programmes to accelerate the empowering process :
  2. to review the effectiveness of the existing institutional arrangements for implementation of policies and programmes relating to social welfare both at Central and State levels and suggest measures to make them more effective.
  3. to review the effectiveness of the existing legislations in the field of Social Welfare and their enforcement and suggest corrective measures, where necessary;
  4. to assess the role of NGOs and the status of devolution of powers and resources to Panchayati Raj Institutions / Local Self Government Bodies as per the 73rd and 74th Constitutional .Amendments and suggest specific measures for their effective involvement in the planning process.
  5. to suggest an approach and necessary- strategies; policies, priorities and programmes along with physical and financial targets in pursuing the commitment of ‘Empowering the Disabled’, ‘Reforming the Social Deviants' and 'Caring the Other Disadvantage’ during the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07).

The Chairman of the Steering Committee, if necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area, problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The Steering Committee shall submit its Report positively by 31 May, 2001

The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Steering Group will be borne by the parent Department Ministry. Organization to which the officers belong. Non-official members will be entitled to TA / DA as admissible to Grade-I Officer* of the
Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.