Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:51.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Empowerment of Scheduled Tribes

Dated 8 December 2000

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five year Plan (2002-2007), it has been, decided to set up a Steering Committee on the Empowerment of Scheduled Tribes with the following Composition:

1. Dr. D.N. Tewari, Member, Planning Commission, New Delhi: 110 001 Chairperson
2. Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi: 110001 Member
3. Secretary, Department of Elementary Education and Literacy, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi: 110 001 Member
4. Secretary, Department of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi: 110 001 Member
5. Secretary, Department of Health, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
6. Secretary, Department of Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
7. I.G. Forests and Special Secretary Ministry of Environment and Forest Paryavaran Bhavan CGO Complex, Lodhi Road New Delhi 110003 Member
8 Secretary, Ministry of Labour, Shram Shakti Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
9. Secretary, Deptt of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
10. Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi 11 001 Member
11. Secretary, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
12. Secretary, Department of Women and Child Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi 110 001 Member
13. Secretary, Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy, Red Cross Building, New Delhi 110 001 Member
14. Director General, ICFRE P.O. New Forest, Government of Uttranchal, Dehradun 248006 Member
15. Special Secretary, Department of Tribal Development, Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad 500 022 Member
16. Commissioner and Secretary, Department of Welfare of Plain Tribals and Backward Classes, (WPTBC) Govt. of Assam, Assam Secretariat Dispur 781 006 Member
17. Pr. Secretary Tribal Harijan and Backward Classes Welfare, Govt. of Chhattisgarh, Raipur. Member
18. Secretary, Department of Tribal Development Govt. of Jharkhand, Ranchi Member
19. Secretary, Department of Tribal Welfare Uttranchal, Dehradun Member
20. Prof. P.K. Nayak, Director Department of Harijan and Adivasi, Training and Research Institute, Government of Orissa Bhubaneswar 751007 Member
21. Shri K. Pradhani (Ex-MP) Milage: Patraput, Via - Mangra Navarangpur Distt. Orissa. Member
22. Dr. B.D. Sharma 11 A, Nagli Rajapur, East Nizamuddin New Delhi 110 013 Member
23. Dr. Bhupender Singh F.x-Special Commissioner for STs Sector -C, Pocket-8/8680, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi. Member
24. Prof. V. Xaxa, Head, Department of Sociology, Delhi School of Economics, Delhi University, Delhi. Member
25. Prof. Mrinal Miri Vice-Chancellor North-Eastem Hill University, Nongthymm, Shillong - (793014). Member
26. Shri H. S. Saksena, Consultant (TD) Ethnographic and Folk Culture Society, L-II/31, Sector B, Aliganj Lucknow 226 024 Member
27. Shri S. Chatterjee Representative Rama Krishna Mission Narain Pur, Bastar Madhya Pradesh 464 661 Member
28. Chairman Akil Bharnya Adivasi Vikas Parishad, 15. Canning Lane, New Delhi Member
29. Shri B.L. Gaur Vice President Bhartiya Adimjati Sevak Sangh Dr. Ambedkar Marg (Link Road) New Delhi 110 055 Member
30. Representative Banbasi Sevva Samithi AT/P.O.-Balliguda P.O. Bhanjpur 762103 Kandhamal Dist Orissa Member
31. Representative Society for Rural Industrialisation 146, H.B. Road Lalpur Ranchi  834 001 Bihar Member
32. Dr. Kaushal Kumar General Secretary, Utthan 18- A Auckland Road Allahabad. Member
33. Prof. Surendra Kumar Banaras Hindu University Varanasi Uttar Pradesh Member
34. Prof. Brij Gopal Jawahar Lal Nehru University New Delhi Member
35. Smt T.K. Sarojini Adviser (BC) Planning Commission New Delhi- (110 001). Member-Secretary


2. The Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee will be as follows :

  1. to review the existing approach, strategies and priorities; the on-going policies and programmes for empowering Scheduled Tribes (STs) during the Ninth Five Year Plan; and suggest if and wherever necessary, alternative strategies, priorities, policies and programmes to accelerate the empowering process;
  2. to assess the effectiveness of the implementation of Tribal Sub-Plan strategy for STs and suggest specific measures and mechanisms to ensure that the population - proportion' funds flow from the other development sectors both at the Central and State levels and the Special Central Assistance (SCA) to TS? is utilized effectively :
  3. to assess the impact of the on-going economic reforms and progressive globalisation / liberalization of economy on the socio-economic conditions of  the Tribals, especially their economy and suggest effective strategies to cope up with the situation;
  4. to review the effectiveness of the existing legislations relating to STs and that enforcement and suggest corrective measures.
  5. to review the effectiveness of the existing Institutional Arrangements for implementation of policies and programmes relating to welfare, protection and development of STs and suggest improvements, if necessary,
  6. to assess the role of NGOs and the status of devolution of powers and resources to Panchayati Raj Institutions / Local Traditional Tribal Councils and Local Self Government Bodies as per the 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendments of 1993 and 1996 and suggest specific measures for their effective involvement in fee planning process : and
  7. to suggest an approach and necessary strategies, priorities, policies, and programmes along with physical and financial targets in pursuing the commitment of Empowering the Scheduled Tribes during the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07);
  8. to suggest programmes under JFM. Forest Villages, shifting cultivations etc.

The Chairman of the Steering Committee, if necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The Steering Committee shall submit its Report positively by 31, May 2001.

The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Steering Committee will be borne by the parent Department / Ministry Organization to which the officers belong. Non-official members will be entitled to TA / DA as admissible to Grade-I Officers of the Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.