Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:52.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Elementary and Adult Education

Dated 6th December 2000

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan 2002-07 for the Education sector, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Elementary and Adult Education.

The composition of the Steering Committee is at Annexure-l

The Terms of Reference

  • To formulate broad objectives and identify thrust/priority areas in the field of Elementary Education, NFE and Adult Education sectors for the Tenth Five Year Plan.
  • To provide all necessary guidance to the Working Groups.
  • To work out financial resources for various components in Elementary Education and Adult Literacy Programmes and workout outlays for the Tenth Five Year Plan.
  • To work out operational strategy for implementation of the recommendations of the Task Force/Committees set up in MHRD on Education For All (EFA) and on performance of the Education sector.

The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Governments/Departments/Institutions to which they belong. TA/DA to non-official members will be paid by the Planning Commission as admissible to Grade-l officers of the Government of India.

The Steering Committee should submit their report within six months.

List of Members of Steering Committee on Elementary and Adult Education.

Dr. K. VenkatasubramanianMember Planning Commission New Delhi-11 0001 Chairman
Smt. Achaia Moulik SecretaryDeptt. of Elementary Education And Literacy, Ministry of Human Resources Development Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi-1 10001 Member
Dr. Mrs. Chitra Naik Indian Institute of Education 128/2, J.P. Naik Path, Kothourd Pune- 41 1 029 - Maharashtra -do-
Shri Anil Bordia Chairman,Lok Jumbish Institutional Area B-10, Jhalana Institutional Area Jaipur-302004 - Rajasthan -do-
Shri N. Vijayaditya Director General National Informatic Centre A Block CGO Complex Lodhi Road New Delhi -do-
Shri Sumit Bose Jt. Secretary (Elementary Education) Deptt. of Elementary Education and Literacy Ministry of Human Resource Development Shastri Bhavan, new Delhi-1 10001 -do-
Prof. J.S. Rajput National Council of Educational Research and Training Sri Aurobindo Marg - New Delhi-110016 -do-
Shri E. Medury Director EDCIL B-86. Defence Colony New Delhi-24 Member
Dr B P. KhandelwalDirector National Institute of Educational Planning And Administration Sri Aurbindo Marg, New Delhi-16 -do-
Prof. Suma Chitnis Director J.N. Tata Endowment Bombay House - Mumbai-400001 do
Dr Ashok Ganguly Chairman Central Board of Secondary Education 2 Community Centre Preet Vihar Delhi-92 do
Dr. A.K. Maheswari Chairman National Council of Teacher Training New Delhi -do-
Dr. NX Ambasht Chairman National Open School B-31 B Kailash Colony New Delhi-48 -do-
Smt. Shyama Chona Principal, Delhi Public School Sector-XII, R.K Puram, New Delhi -do-
SecretaryAdult Education Trivandrum Kerala -do-
Secretary, Elementary Education Government of Gujarat Gandhi Nagar, Ahemdabad. -do-
Secretary Elementary Education Government of Tamil Nadu Chennai -do-
Secretary, Education Government of Punjab Chandigarh Member
Shri Prem Prashant Secretary, Education Govt of Haryana, Chandigarh -do-
Secretary EducationJharkhand- Ranchi -do-
Secretary Education Chattisgarh - Raipur -do-
Director SCERT, Pune Govt. of Maharashtra -do-
Director State Resource Centre(SRC) Government of West Bengal Calcutta -do-
Director State Resource Center Government of Rajasthan Jaipur -do-
Director SCERT Government of Madhya Pradesh Bhopal -do-
Pr.Adviser(Education) Planning Commission Member Convenor