Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:52.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).


Dated 20 November 2000

In the context of the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07) for Tourism it has been decided to constitute a Steering Committee on Tourism The composition and the terms of reference of the Steering Committee would be as follows:


1. Shri M.S. Ahluwalia, Member. Planning Commission Chairman
2. Secretary, Department of Tourism Member
3 Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation Member
4 Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion Member
5. Secretary, Deptt. of Youth Affairs and Sports Member
6. Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests Member
7. Secretary, Department of Revenue Member
8 Secretary, Department of Culture Member
9 Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport and Highways Member
10 Secretary, Ministry of Power Member
11 Secretary, Ministry of Mines Member
12 Spl Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs Member
13. Pr. Adviser (Tourism), Planning Commission Member
14. Member, Railway Board Member
15 Additional Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs Member
16. Managing Director. Air India Ltd. Member
17 Managing Director, Indian Airlines Ltd Member
18. Representative of Indian Tourist Transport Operators
19 Representative of Travel Agents Association of India Member
20. Representative of Federation of Hotels and Restaurants
Association of India
21. Representative of Hotel Association of India Member
22. Representative of Adventure Tourism Association Member
23. Shn Inder Sharma, Chairman Emeritus, Sita World Travel i
(India) Ltd.
24. Shri B.K. Goswami Member
25 Shri Cyrus Guzder Member
26. Ms. Camellia Panjabi Member
27 Joint Secretary Department of Tourism Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

  1. To identify factors affecting development of tourism in India.
  2. To formulate an integrated strategy/approach to tourism development in collaboration with Ministries/Departments/agencies whose activities impinge on tourism development, such as [
    1. The Ministry of Civil Aviation for augmenting air seat capacity on major international sectors connecting India to facilitate the flow of tourists
    2. The Department of Industrial Policy and Planning for sifting of polluting and non-polluting industries away from areas of tourist interest
    3. The Ministry of Home Affairs for improving facilitation services liberalizing the system for issue of visa/permit, streamlining the process of migration clearance, customs clearance and prevention of touting and misguiding of tourists.
    4. The Ministry of Finance for rationalizing tourism related taxes to make the end-product competitive.
    5. The Ministry of Environment and Forests for developing eco-tourism.
    6. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for Adventure Tourism
    7. The Ministry of Power for exclusion of National Parks and sanctuaries from its activities,
    8. The Ministry of Mines for exclusion of mining and quarrying from National Parks and sanctuaries.
  3. To examine the need to continue Government of India Overseas Tourist Offices in the context of effective overseas publicity being possible through inter-net and the electronic media.
  4. To review the- incentives and other concessions given to the tourism industry (hotel, travel agents and tourist transport operators etc.) aid to suggest modifications therein.

The Chairman of the Steering Committee may co-opt officiate or non-officials as members, if considered necessary.

The non-official members of the Steering Committee will be paid TA/DA at the rate applicable to Grade I officers of the Central Government for attending meetings of the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee will submit its report by 31st May 2001.