Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:53:53.

Steering Committee for Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Urban Development (including Urban Transport) Urban Housing and Urban Poverty (with focus on shims)

Dated 14th February 2001

In the context of formulation of policy guidelines, objectives and strategies for Urban Development, Urban Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation for the Tenth Five Year Plan, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee. The composition of the Steering Committee and its terms and reference are as under:


1. Shri Kamaluddin Ahmed, Member, Planning Commission
2. Secretary, Deptt. of Urban Development Member
3. Secretary, Deptt. of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation Member
4. Secretary, M/o Environment and Forest, Govt. of India Member
5. Adviser (Water Resources), Planning Commission
6. Adviser (Transport), Planning Commission
7. Adviser, PPD, Planning Commission
8. Adviser (LEM), Planning Commission
9. Managing Director, HDFC Member
10. Chairman-cum-Managing Director, HUDCO Member
11. Prof. Om Prakash Mathur, NIPFP Member
12. Dr. Amitabh Kundu, JNU Member
13. Shri Vinay Lall, Society for Development Studies Member
14. Shri R.P. Misra, Sustainable Dev. Foundation Member
15. Shri E. Sreedharan, MD, DMRC Member
16. Adviser (HUD), Planning Commission

Terms of Reference

  1. To review the policies and programmes in operation in the Ninth Plan in respect of Urban Development (including urban Transport), Urban Housing, Urban Poverty, shims and their relevance in the Tenth Plan. While reviewing the programmes Committee would keep in view the Mid-term Appraisal of the Ninth Plan. The review exercise would inter-alia include detailed assessment of the performance (physical and financial) of the ongoing schemes.
  2. To identify the thrust areas and renewed emphasis that may have; become increasingly relevant in the light of developments in the sector.
  3. To suggest objectives, policies, strategies and programmes in the light of (b) above for the sectors during the Tenth Five Year Plan.

The Chairman of the Steering Committee may co-opt any additional Member(s), official or non-official and constitute sub-groups if deemed necessary.

The expenditure of TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Government Department/Institutions to which they belong. The TA/DA of the non-official members will be paid by the Planning Commission as admissible under Government Rules.

The Committee will submit, its report within a period of six months.