Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:45.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Rural Poverty Alleviation Programmes

Dated 15th December 2000


1. Shri Arun Bhatnagar Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi. Chairman
2. Dr. Rohini Nayyar Adviser (Rural Development), Planning Commission, New Delhi. Member
3. Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser Ministry of Rural Development Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi Member
4. Dr. Pronab Sen Adviser (Perspective Planning Division), Planning Commission, New Delhi. Member
5. Dr. S.P. Pal Adviser (Programme Evaluation Organisation), Planning Commission, New Delhi. Member
6. Shri Shekhar Aggarwal Joint Secretary, Department of Banking, Ministry of Finance, Jeevan Deep Building, Parliament Street, New Delhi. Member
7. Ms. Aditi Mehta Joint Secretary (Rashtriya Manila Kosh), Department of Women and Child Development Ministty'of Human Resources, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi Member
8. Shri Satish Chandra Joint Secretary (Rural Housing), Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi Member
9. Mrs. Sudha Pillai Joint Secretary (National Social Assistance Programme), Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi. Member
10. Shri A. Y. Sardesai Chief General Manager (Rural Credit), Reserve Bank of India, Mumbai. Member
11. Shri M.V.S. Chalapathirao Executive Director. National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development, Sterling Centre. Dr. A.B. Road, Worli, Mumbai. Member
12. Secretary (Rural Development) Government of Kamalaka. Bangalore. Member
13. Secretary (Rural Development) Government of Tiipura, Agartala. Member
14. Secretary (Rural Development) Government of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow. Member
15. Secretary (Rural Development) Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad. Member
16. Secretary (Rural Development) Government of West Bengal, Calcutta. Member
17. Prof Prabhu Ghate, A-7 Nizamuddin (East), New Delhi Member
18. Ms Renana Jhabvala Self-Employed Women Association (SEWA), Ahemdabad, Gujarat. Member
19. Shri Vijay Mahajan Managing Director, BASIC. 403, Nirmal Tower, Dwarkapuri Colony, Hyderabad - 500082. Member
20. Shri Harsh Mander, Action Aid, C-6 and 7, Sector C, Pkt 6 and 7 6322-Vasant Kunj, New Delhi Member
21. Prof. Indira Hirway Director and Professor of Economics, Centre for Development Alternatives, E-71 Akash, Near Chief Justice Bunglow, Bodakdev, Ahemdabad Member
22. Dr. Ravi S. Srivastava Professor of Economics, Centre for the Study of Regional Development, Jawaharlal Nehru University, 1328, Poorvanchal, JNU Campus, New Delhi Member
23. Dr. S. L Mahendra Dev Director, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Nizan^ah Obstfrvatorv' Campus, Begumpet, Hyderabad Member
24. Prof. Pradeep Bhargava Senior Fellow, Institute of Development Studies, 8-B. Jhalana Institutional Area. Jaipur. Member
25. Prof. S.K. Thorat Centre for the Study of Regional Development Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. Member
26. Shri N. Sanjeeva Rao, H.No. 10-3-282/2/A/4L Venkatadriitagar Colony, Humayun Nagar, Hyderabad - 28. Member
27. Smt. Jhansi Ranee Vanam 1-9-295/31/E/2/1, Achyutha Reddy Marg, Vidyanagar, Hyderabad – 44. Member
28. Shri Wilfred Lakra Joint Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi Member-Secretary

Terms of reference :

  1. To appraise the rural poverty alleviation programmes specifically the recently restructured programmes and examine their efficacy and impact on the rural , poor and suggest measures for effectively overcoming the major shortcoming and constraints faced in theii1 implementation. In this context also analyse and complimentarily of State sector poverty alleviation programmes.
  2. To evaluate the effectiveness of alternative programmes in alleviating poverty and to indicate a composite framework for poverty alleviation based on Indian and international experiences.
  3. To suggest an approach and strategy for poverty alleviation in rural areas encompassing capacity building of the poor including the women and disadvantaged groups through generation of self/wage employment, creation of rural infrastructure, provision of rural housing and extension of rural security benefits to the rural poor.
  4. To examine the role and potential for expansion of the rural non-farm sector in alleviating poverty and generation of additional employment opportunity for the rural poor.
  5. To formulate the guidelines for below poverty line (BPL) survey for the Tenth Plan and review/suggest the methodology for identification of beneficial and formation/ revival of Self Help Groups (SHGs).
  6. To examine the existing administrative structure in terms of planning execution, monitoring, technical and supervisory capabilities at the block district and village level.
  7. To review the role of Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) and Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in the implementation of rural poverty alleviation programmes.
  8. To appraise the type and quality of assets/infrastructure created by the rural poverty alleviation programmes and also look into their durability and maintenance and their usefulness in alleviating poverty.
  9. To examine the issue of allocation of funds to States/Union Territories under major rural poverty alleviation programmes.
  10. To study the possibility of a greater integration, dovetailing and convergence of the rural poverty alleviation programmes with sectoral programmes.

The Chairman of the Working Group may set up sub-group/task forces, if necessary for undertaking in-depth studies and formulation of plan proposals.

The Working Group may co-opt non-official experts/representatives of other agencies if required.

The expenditure of the Members of T.A./D.A in connection with the meeting of the Working Group will be borne by the parent-Department/Ministry/Organisation. The expenditure, if any, in respect of non-official Members will be borne by the Ministry of Rural Development as per rules and regulations of TA/DA applicable to Grade-I officers of Government of India.

Working Group will submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31.05.2001.