Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:47.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Agricultural Credit, Cooperation and Crop Insurance

Dated 16th November 2000


1. Shri S.S. Sisodia, President,
National Cooperative Union of India, 3, Institutional Area. Hauz Khas, New Delhi.
2. Shri V.C. Nanda, Managing Director
National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development,
(NABARD) Sterling Centre. Dr. Annie Besant Road. Post Box No. 6552. Worli,
3. Shri P. D. Mayee, Joint Adviser
Agriculture Division Planning Commission, Yojana Bhawan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi -110001.
4. Shri Sekhar Agarwal, Joint Secretary ( Banking Division)
Ministry of Finance, Jeevan Deep Building, Parliament Street New Delhi.
5. Shri P.K. Mishra, Managing Director
National Cooperative Development Corporation (NCDC)
4 Institutional Area, Hauz Khas New Delhi.
6. Shri Priyadarshi Thakur, Managing Director
National Agricultural Cooperative Marketing Federation of India,
(NAFED) Ashram Chowk, New Delhi.
7. Shri J.P.S. Yadav, Managing Director,
Harvana State Coop. Agricultural Development Bank
SCO-1016 and 1034, Sec-22, Chandigarh.
8. Shri T. Srinivasan, Chairman-cum-Managing Director,
Rajasthan Financial Corporation, Government of Rajasthan
Udyog Bhavan, Tilak Marg Jaipur, Rajasthan.
9. Shri S.K. Goel, Commissioner for Cooperation and Registrar
Cooperative Societies, Government of Maharashtra Central Building Annexe. Pune -411001
10 Shri Jagdish Capoor, Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India.
Central Office, Shahid Bhagat Singh Road, Mumhai-400001.
11 Shri Vepa Kamesan, Managing Director, State Bank of India, National Banking Group
New Administrative Building, Madam Cama Road, Bombay -400021.
12 Shri D. Sengupta, Chairman, General Insurance Corporation
170, Jamshedji Tata Road, Mumbai - 400 020

Shri T.T. Adhikari, Managing Director,
National Cooperative Consumers' Federation of India Ltd.
Deepali Buliding, 5th Floor, 92, Nehru Place, New Delhi-19

14. Shri T.D. Janardhan Rao, Chairman
National Coop. Agri and Rural Dev. Banks’ Federation, Takshila (2nd and 3rd floor),
Madhavdas Pasta Road, Near Chitra Cinema, Dadar, East, Mumbai-400014.
15. Shri Lalit Srivastava, Secretary (Cooperation)
Government of Uttar Pradesh, Sachivalaya Bhavan Lucknow (U.P.)
16. Shri S. Bhalerao, Secretary
Deptt. of Agriculture and Cooperation, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad
- do-
17. Shri B.K. Biswas, Secretary Department of Cooperation Government of West Bengal
Secretariat, Writers Building Calcutta-700001
18. Shri M.S. Rao, Secretary, Deptt. of Agriculture and Cooperation Government of Meghalya
Secretariat, Shillong-793 001
- do -
19. Shri K. S. Bhoria, Joint Secretary (Credit and Cooperation),
Deptt. of Agriculture and Cooperation. Ministry of Agriculture, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi.
20. Shri G.K. Paul, Ajinkya Bhaishbangh Road, Savedi Ahmednagar Member

Terms of Reference

Agricultural Credit:

  1. To review the flow of credit to agricultural sector during the 10th Plan, identity of the factors affecting the growth of agricultural credit and suggest strategies for accelerating the flow of credit to meet the investment requirements of the farming community.
  2. To review the credit needs of the weaker sections of the farming community, particularly small and marginal farmers, scheduled tribe and scheduled caste fanners, identify the problems and constraints in the flow of credit to these categories of farmers and suggest measures for easy availability of credit to them for agricultural production and other agricultural activities.
  3. To assess the short term and long term credit requirement for agricultural production and work out target for 10th plan.
  4. To review the magnitude of agricultural indebtedness and also status of overdue/ financial health of PACs (Primary Agricultural Credit Societies) and Land Development Banks, identify the factors affecting financial health and efficiency of Cooperative Credit Societies and suggest measures and institutional framework for making the Cooperative Credit Societies more efficient, competitive and cost effective in the wake of liberalisation of banking sector.
  5. To study the short term and long term impacts of economic reforms on
  6. To make a study of revamping/strengthening of Cooperative Credit Structures so as to meet the investment requirements for accelerating the growth of agriculture sector.
  7. To review the present status of agricultural credit in the Norm-Eastern States, identify the constraints/bottlenecks in the flow of agricultural credit to the fanners of this region and suggest concrete measures for encouraging greater flow of bank credit for agricultural production and other agricultural activities in the Region.
  8. To critically review the performance of me on-going schemes of the Department of A and C, RBI, NABARD and Department of Banking (M/o Finance) and suggest any modifications/discontinuation or any new schemes to be taken up to meet the desired goal.


  1. To review the status of Cooperative Movement and its role in the economic development of the country in general and in the agricultural economy of the country, in particular identify weaknesses of Cooperative Movement and Cooperative Movement to meet the desired goal.
  2. To make a special study of the role of the cooperatives and challenges to be met in the wake of globalisation of Indian economy and also the issues relating to competitive efficiency of the cooperatives, constraints and remedial measures for improving the commercial and economic viability of the cooperatives with regard to modernisation, diversification, technology up gradation, quality improvement, marketability and export promotion, etc.
  3. Formulate suitable programmes and schemes for the 10* plan indicating policies, objectives, strategy targets, programmes for development of cooperatives with due regard to the self-reliance, export promotion, removal of regional imbalances, reduction in rural poverty, generation of more employment opportunities and improvement in socio-economic conditions of the weaker section of the rural community.
  4. To study the regional disparity in the development of Cooperatives, identify the factors inhibiting the development of cooperatives in the States and suggest suitable programmes for encouraging cooperatives in the cooperatively underdeveloped States.
  5. To suggest measures for Human Resource Development in the Cooperatives.
  6. To review the role and functioning of consumer cooperatives and suggest suitable measures for their improvement


  1. To review the present status of the National Agricultural Insurance Scheme (modified Comprehensive Crop Insurance Scheme) and suggest measure for making the scheme more cost effective and beneficial to the fanning community.

The Chairman of the Working Group may set up sub groups/task forces, if necessary for undertaking in-depth studies and formulation of plan proposals.

The Working Group may co-opt non-official experts/representatives of other agencies if required.

The expenditure of the members on TA?DA in connection with the meeting of the Working Group will be borne by the parent-department Ministry/Organisation. The expenditure will be borne by the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation as per rules and regulations of TA/DA applicable to Grade-I officers of Government of India.

The Working Group will submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st March 2001.