Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:53.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Major and Medium Irrigation Programme

Dated 20th November 2000


1. Secretary. Ministry of Water Resources Chairman
2. Adviser (WR), Planning Commission Member
3. Agricultural Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Co-operation, Ministry of Agriculture Member
4. Member (HP), Central Electricity Authority Member
5. Professor Ashok Gulati, Institute of Economic Growth, University of Delhi, Delhi Member
6. Dr. Jyoti K. Parikh, Professor, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research. General Vaidya Marg, GOREGAON (E), Mumbai- 400 065 Member
7. Financial Adviser. Ministry of Water Resources Member
8. Commissioner (Projects), Ministry of Water Resources Member
9. Joint Secretary (FB). Deptt of Economic Affairs. Ministry of Finance Member
10. Shri. R.P. Singh. WRDTC. University of Roorkee, Roorkee -247667. Member
11. A Representative from the Ministry of Environment and Forests (not below the level of Joint Secretary) Member
12. A Representative of Ministry of social Justice and Empowerment not below the level of Joint Secretary) Member
13. A Representative from Department of Science and Technology (nut below the level of Joint Secretary ) Member

State Irrigation/Water Resources Secretary of

14. Andhra Pradesh Member
15. Gujarat Member
16. Haryana Member
17. Karnataka Member
18. Maharashtra Member
19. Tamil Nadu Member
20 Uttar Pradesh Member
21 Member (WP), CWC, New Delhi Member-Secretary


22. Shri A.D. Mohile, Former Chairman, CWC, 31-C Sector IV, Pushap Vihar, New Delhi-110016 Member
23. Shri B. P. Das, Former Chief Adviser, Water Resources, Orissa, 7 7,Shaheed Nagar, Bhubaneswar-751007 Member
24. Dr. Marreddy Thulasi Reddy, 6/44. Khateeb Street, Vaimpally - 516329. Cuddapah District, Andhra Pradesh Member

Terms of reference :

  1. To review the Ninth five Year Plan physical and financial performance of the Sector, Central and State wise.
  2. To review the performance of the projects completed upto the end of Ninth Plan with reference to the originally planned project objectives and environmental impacts and suggest changes, if any, needed in the planning and implementation of new projects.
  3. To suggest appropriate strategy and formulate year wise proposals for the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007) target wise and investment wise. indicating the priorities.
  4. To review the present mode of funding including earmarking in the context of completion of all the projects especially those taken upto Fifth Five year Plan as a time bound programme.
  5. To review the progress made in drawing up land-use perspective plans and water resources development plans, basin-wise and suggest appropriate action to expedite the work.
  6. To evolve realistic strategy and suggest measures to improve irrigation efficiency of all the existing projects to ensure equitable, timely and optimal delivery of irrigation water to the farmers.
  7. To suggest appropriate measures and suitable strategies for improving revenues from irrigation works and for optimum utilization of the existing assets i.e. irrigation systems and manpower.
  8. To review the existing data availability, method of collection storing and retrieval of data and suggest measures to improve the process. Also to indicate refinements needed particularly with regard to assessment of return flows, demand for water and utilization.
  9. To assess the employment potential in the Tenth Five Year Plan and the requirements and training needs of various categories of personnel needed for the sector.
  10. To prepare a S and T Plan for the Sector.

The Working Group may co-opt a Member(s) as may be required.

Expenditure of the Members on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective Departments/Ministries/Organisations. Expenditure in respect of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission as per rules and regulations of TA/DA as applicable to Group 'A' Officers of the Government of India.

The Working Group shall submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st March, 2001.