Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:54.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Flood Control Programme

Dated 20th November 2000


1. Sh. R. Rangachari, Former Member, CWC and fanner Prof., Centre for Policy Research New Delhi Chairman
2. Adviser (W.R). Planning Commission Member
3. Vce-Chairman. Brahmaputra Board, Guwahati Member
4. Chairman, Ganga Flood Control Commission, Patna Member
5. Joint Secretary, Natural Disaster Management, Deptt. of Agriculture and Cooperation Ministry of Agriculture Member
6. Commissioner (ER), Ministry of Water Resources Member
7. A representative of Deptt. of Environment, Ministry of Environment and Forests. Member
8. Joint Secretary (Soil Conservation), Deptt. of Agriculture and Coop. Ministry of Agriculture Member

State Irrigation/Water Resources/Waterways/Flood Control Secretary of

9. Andhra Pradesh Member
10. Assam Member
11. Bihar Member
12. Kerala Member
13. Punjab Member
14. Uttar Pradesh Member
15. West Begal Member
16. Dr. K. Prabhakttra Raya, Savirirayalu Street, Pondicherry- 605001 Member
17. Member (KM). C.W.C, New Delhi Member- Secretary


1. Sh. A.D. Mobile, Former Chairman, CWC, 131C, Sector IV, Pushpa Vihar, New Delhi-110016. Member
2. Sh. N.V.V. Char. Former Commissioner (ER) Ministry of Water Resources, A-12 C, Munirka DDA Flats, New Delhi-110067 Member
3. Sh. B. P. Das, Former Chief Adviser, WR. Orissa, 717, Shaheed Nagar, Bhubaneshwar - 751007. Member
4. Shri A. S. Kapoor, Former Chairman Indira Gandhi Nahar Board Member

Terms of reference :

  1. To review the Ninth Five Year Plan physical and financial performance of the sector Central and Statewide.
  2. To review the performance of embankments constructed as a flood control measure and to suggest modification, if needed, in the planning, design and management of embankments.
  3. To suggest appropriate strategy and formulate year-wise proposals for the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007) target-wise and investment-wise, indicating the priorities.
  4. To review the present mode of funding including earmarking for completion of projects expeditiously. To examine the scope for raising additional financial resources for flood protection works. To recommend financial norms for the O and M of the created assets.
  5. To suggest measures for stabilization of the benefits resulting from schemes implemented under the Sector.
  6. To review the existing data availability and suggest measures to improve the data collection, storage and retrieval process.
  7. To assess the employment potential in the Tenth Plan and requirements and training needs of various categories of personnel needed for the sector in the Plan period.
  8. To prepare a S and T Plan for the Sector.
  9. To review the action taken by the States and Ministry of Water Resources on the implementation of the recommendations of the RBA and to identify specific items for action in the Tenth Plan.

The Working Group may co-opt a Member(s) as may be required.

Expenditure of the Members on TA/DA in connection -with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective Departments/Ministries/Organisations. Expenditure in respect of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission as per rules and regulations of TA/DA as applicable to Group "A" Officers of the Government of India.

The working group shall sumit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st March, 2001.