Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:58.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Command Area Development (CAD) Programme

Dated 20th November 2000


1. Dr. CD. Thatte, Secretary General t emotional Commission on Irrigation and Drainage, New Delhi Chairman
2. Adviser (WR). Planning Commission Member
3. Addl. Secretary, Min. of Water Resources Member
4. Agricultural Commissioner (Deptt of Agriculture Coop.), Min. of Agriculture Member
5. Chairman, Central Ground Water Board, Ministry of Water Resources, New CGO Complex, Faridabad Member
6. Director, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal-132001 (Haryana) Member
7 A representative of National Bank for Igri culture and Rural De\'eUtpnttmt. Munibai Member
8. Project Director, Water Technology Centre, IARI, Pusa Campus, New Delhi-110012. Member
9. Deputy Director-General (SA and F), I. CAR. Krishi Bhuvan, New Delhi Member
10. Sh. K.P. Singh, WRDTC, University of Roorkee, Roorkee -247667. Member

State CAD/Water Resources Secretary of

11. Andhra Pradesh Member
12. Bihar Member
13. Gujarat Member
14. Haryana Member
15. Maharashtra Member
16. Karnataka Member
17. Madhya Pradesh Member
18. Orissa Member
19. Uttar Pradesh Member
20. Commissioner (CAD), Ministry of Water Resources Member-Secretary


1. Prof. V.S. Vyas, Ex-Director, Institute of Development Studies, 396, Vasundhara Extension, Gopalpur Bye-Pass, Tonk Road. Jaipur-302018 Member
2. Shri Srijan, 1 Community Shopping Centre, 1st Floor, Anupam Apartments Saidullajab, New Delhi – 110030. Member
3. Shri D.K. Dutt, Former Chairman, Central Ground Water Board Member
4. Sh. Anil Shah, Chairman, Development Support Centre, 2, Prakruti, Opp. Red Rose Restaurant, Near H.L. College of Commerce, Navrangpura, Ahmedabad Member
5. Shri Kalavala Madhava Reddy, 1-1-107, Janagaon- 506167, Warangal District, Andhra Pradesh Member

Terms of reference :

  1. To review the Ninth Five Year Plan physical financial performance of the Sector, Central and State-wise
  2. To suggest the steps necessary to reduce the gap between the created potential and its utilization.
  3. To suggest measures to ensure equitable, timely and optimal delivery of irrigation water through warabandi and other appropriate systems including night irrigation.
  4. To suggest action plan to improve water use efficiency and land productivity from CAD commands. Also to review and suggest changes required in the existing irrigation practices and procedures to meet with the requirements of modern agriculture.
  5. To suggest appropriate strategy and formulate yearwise proposals for the Tenth Five Year Plan.
  6. To estimate the employment potential opportunities in the Tenth Plan and the requirements and training needs of various categories of personnel needed for the sector in the plan period.
  7. To review the present mode of funding including earmarking in the context of early completion of the projects.

The working group may co-opt a Member(s) as may be required.

Expenditure of the Members on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working group will be borne by the respective Departments/Ministries/Organsiations. Expenditure in respect of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission as per rules and regulations of TA/Da as applicable to Group ’A’ Officers of the Government of India.

The working group shall submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st March, 2001.