Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:58.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Empowering the Other Backward Classes (OBCs)

Dated 8th December 2000


1. Shri P. S. Krishnan, (Ex-Chairperson of the National Commission for Backward Classes)
Flat No. B /1513, Beverly Park – II, DLF City, Phase II, Gurgaon.
2. Representative, National Commission for Backward Classes, Trikoot, 1, Bikaji Kama Place,
R.K. Puram, New Delhi -110066.
3. Representative, Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy
Red Cross Building, New Delhi -110001.
4. Representative, Department of Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
5. Representative, Department of Elementary Education and Literacy,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001.
6. Representative, Department of Secondary Education and Higher Education,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001.
7. Representative, Ministry of Labour, Shram Shakti Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
8. Representative, Deptt. of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi –110001. Member
9. Representative, Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001. Member
10. Representative, Ministry of Small Scale and Agro Industries, Udyog Bhavan, New Delhi- 110001. Member
11. Representative, Department of Women and Child Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001. Member
12. Representative, Ministry of Urban Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi – 110001 Member
13. Representative, BC and TD Division, Planning Commission, New Delhi -110001. Member
14 Secretary, Deptt. of Welfare, Government of Bihar, Patna – 864001 Member
15. Secretary, Deptt. of Welfare, Government of Jharkhand, Ranchi. Member
16. Secretary, Welfare Dept. of SC ST and OBCs, Government of Rajasthan, Jaipur - 302001. Member
17. Secretary, Deptt. of Social Welfare, Government of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow - 226001. Member
18. Secretary, Deptt. of Vimukta Jati, Nomedic Tribes, Other Backward Classes and Special Backward Classes Welfare Departments, Government of Maharashtra, Mumbai - 400032. Member
19. Secretary, Department of Welfare, Government of Chattisgarh, Raipur. Member
20. Representative, National Backward Classes Development and Finance Corporation
5th Floor, NCUI Building, 3, Siri Institutional Area, New Delhi- 110016.
21. Prof. Imtiaz Ahmed, Centre for Political Studies School of Social Sciences,
Jawahar Lal Nehru University, New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi -110067.
22. Secretary, Department of Welfare, Dehradun, Uttaranchal. Member
23. Shri Satyanarayan Singh Member – Secretary
Rajasthan State OBC Commission, Gaurav Nagar, Hawa Sadak, Jaipur.
24. Prof. K. V. Ramana, Retired Professor (Social Work), Department of Social Work,
Andhra University, Waltair - 573003.
25. Smt. Sushila Pandiyan Programme Director Community Action for Social Transformation Poophankudieruppu, Post – 627414, Thirunelveli Distt., Tamil Nadu Member
26. Joint Secretary In-charge of OBCs Welfare, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001.

Terms of Reference

  1. to review the existing approach, strategies and priorities; the on-going policies and programmes and their implementation for empowering Other Backward Classes (OBCs) and suggest rationalization/ minimization of the on-going related programmes and effective inter-sectoral convergence;
  2. to identify neglected areas and groups; gaps, weakness and bottlenecks in the implementation; and take note of^ the persisting and emerging problems/situations related to welfare, protection, development and empowerment of Other Backward Classes in the changing scenario situation and suggest necessary interventions;
  3. to review the implementation of the existing legislations related to OBCs and mechanisms for their enforcement and suggest corrective measures;
  4. to review the functioning of the existing Institutional Arrangements, both at the Central and State levels for implementation of policies and programmes for empowering OBCs and suggest measures to make them more effective;
  5. to review and assess the involvement of Panchayati Raj Institutions Local Self Government Bodies and NGOs in the implementation of programmes for empowering OBCs, and suggest measures for their effective involvement in the planning process ; and
  6. to review the physical and financial achievements in relation to the targets fixed under various programmes for OBCs during the Ninth Flan and project programme-wise requirements, both physical and financial for Empowering OBCs during the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07).

The Chairman of the Working Group, if necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area / problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry Organization to which the officers belong. Non-official members will be entitled TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I Officers of the Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.

The Working Group shall submit Its Report positively by 30th April. 2001.