Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:54:59.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Empowering the Scheduled Tribes

Dated 8th December 2000


1. Dr. Ram Dayal Munda, Former Vice-Chancellor,
Deptt. of Regional Language, Ranchi University Morbadi Campus, Ranchi - 834 001.
2. Representative, National Commission for SCs and STs
5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi –110003.
3. Representative, Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy
Red Cross Building, New Delhi -110001.
4. Representative Department of Family Welfare Nirman Bhawan New Delhi -110001. Member
5. Representative, Department of Elementary Education and Literacy, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
6. Representative, Department of Secondary Education and Higher Education Shastri Dhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
7. Representative, Ministry of Environment and Forest, Paryavaran Bhavan, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road,
New Delhi -110003.
8. Representative, Ministry of Labour, Shram Sliakti Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001. Member
9. Representative, Deptt. of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan New Delhi - 110001. Member
10. Representative, Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
11. Representative, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
12. Representative, Department of Women and Child Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
13. Representative, BC and TD Division, Planning Commission, New Delhi - 110001. Member
14. Director General, Anthropological Survey of India, West Block 2nd Wing, 6th Floor, R.K. Puram,
New Delhi -110066.
15. Pr. Secretary, Deptt. of Tribal Development, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal-560001. Member
16. Secretary, Department of SC and St Welfare, Govt. of Jharkhand, Ranchi. Member
17. Secretary, Deptt. of Tribal Development Govt. of Uttaranchal Dehradun-48006. Member
18. Secretary, Deptt. of Tribal Development, Govt. of Chartisgarh, Raipur. Member
19. Secretary, Deptt. of Tribal Development Govt. of Rajasthan Civil Secretariat, Jaipur - 302001. Member
20. Managing Director, National SC/ST Finance and Development Corporation, Plot No. 8, Balaji Estate
Guru Ravi Das Marg, Kalkaji, New Delhi -110019.
21. Director, Tribal Research Institute, Gauhati Assam. Member
22. Dr. L.K. Mahapatra, (Former Vice-Channellor), Sahid Nagar, Utkal University, Bhubaneshwar. Member
23. Dr. N. Mohan Rao, Ex-Director (TRI) c/o A..P. Tribal Research Institute, Masab Tank, Hyderabad. Member
24. Prof. G. Prakash Reddy, Head, Department of Anthropology, S.V. Universirv, Tirupathi Andhra Pradesh Member
25. Dr. (Ms.) Neeti Mohanti, Jigyanshu Tribal Research Centre, J-21, Hauz Khas, New Delhi –110066. Member
26. Representative Rama Krishna Mission, Rama Krishna Beach, Visakhapatnam - 753 003. Member
27. Representative, Akhil Bhartiya Aadivasi Vikas Parishad, 5, Canning Lane, New Delhi. Member
28. Shri M. Shankar Rao, Jana Chetana, Palakonda Srikakulam Distt. Andhra Pradesh. Member
29. Dr. Hari Mohan Mathur, Retd. Chief Secretary, Rajasthan, C-95. Jaganpath Marg, Jaipur -300001. Member
30. Joint Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Convener

Terms of Reference:

  1. to review the existing approach, strategies, priorities; the on-going policies and programmes and their implementation for the welfare, development and empowerment of Scheduled Tribes (STs) and suggest rationalization minimization of the on-going programmes and effective inter-sectoral convergence;
  2. to identify neglected areas and groups; gaps, weaknesses and bottlenecks in the implementation; and take note of the persisting and emerging problems / situations related to welfare, protection, development and empowerment of STs in the changing scenario and suggest necessary interventions;
  3. to review the progress of the implementation of the Tribal Sub-Plan (TSP) to ensure flow of "population - proportionate' funds from other developmental sectors to STs and utili2ation of Special Central Assistance (SCA) to TSP and Ihe GIA under Article 275 (1) of the Constitution and suggest necessary measures to improve their effectiveness;
  4. to review the implementation of the existing legislations related to STs and mechanisms for their enforcement and suggest corrective measures ;
  5. to review the functioning of the existing Institutional Arrangements, both at the Central, State and Project levels for implementation of policies and programmes for empowering STs with a special reference to ITDPs and suggest measures to make them more effective ;
  6. to review and assess the involvement of Panchayati Raj Institutions Local Self Government Bodies and NGOs in the implementation of the programmes for empowering STs and suggest specific measures for their effective involvement in the planning process; and
  7. to review the physical and financial achievements in relation to the targets fixed under various programmes for STs during the Ninth Plan and project programme-wise requirements, both physical and financial for Empowering the Scheduled Tribes during the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-07).
  8. to suggest programmes under JFM, shifting cultivation and development as first village etc.

The Chairman of the Working Group, if necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups on any specific area / problem and also co-opt additional Members.

The expenditure on TADA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the parent Department / Ministry Organization to which the officers belong. Non-official members will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade-1 Officers of the Government of India and this will be paid by the Planning Commission.

The Working Group shall submit its Report positively by 28th February 2001.