Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:03.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Postal Sector

Dated 23th April 2001


Sl No. Name and Designation Ministry/Deptt./ Organisation .
1 Shri B.N.Som, Secretary Deptt. of Posts Chairman
2 Shri L.K. Puri, Sr. DDG(CPT) Deptt. of Posts Convener
3 Shri M.P. Rajan, PMG Deptt. of Post Dharwad, Karnataka Member
4 Shri A.N. D. Kachari PMG Deptt. of Post; Dibrugarh, Assam - do -
5 Prof. Mamakutam Faculty of Management Studies,DU - do -
6 Prof. S.N. Maheshwari Deptt. of Computer Sciences,IIT,New Delhi - do -
7 Prof. G. Raghuram, IIM, Ahmedabad - do -
8 Representative Ministry of Information Technology - do -
9 Dr. Birendra Kumar Thapliyal Director (CAS) NIRD - do -
10 Representative Min. Of Railways - do -
11 Representative Min. Of Finance - do -
12 Representative Min. Of Telecom - do -
13 Representative Min. Of Rural Development - do -
14 Shri Nirmal Singh, Director(C and I) Planning Commission - do -

Terms of Reference:

  1. To evolve approach on postal sector for the Tenth Plan keeping in view the strengths and weaknesses of the postal services, socio-economic needs of the country, objective of providing world class postal services at affordable prices, international commitments of the country at UPU etc. and development needs of the country.
  2. To make recommendations regarding long term and short term Postal Policy with the objective of making the postal operations self-financing.
  3. To identify the institutional / structural reforms required in the Postal sector to achieve the above objectives. It may include recommendations regarding re-structuring the Department of Post, separating policy functions from service provision, creating separate corporate bodies for Life Insurance and commercial exploitation of land and postal estates.
  4. To make recommendations on extent of privatisation of services and need and form of regulation required.
  5. To Identify new product/services for generating additional resources for the Department of Post.
  6. To identify thrust areas with inter-se priority, keeping in view the National objectives and priorities for developing technological capabilities and their application in major areas of development.
  7. Role of post offices in promoting/facilitating e-commerce and the process of certification.
  8. Any other item that the Working Group, deems necessary to be included for making the recommendations useful.

The Working Group may set up Sub Groups to go into specific issues / areas in the sector and or for detailed information gathering and analysis. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any person whose knowledge or expertise is considered to be useful to the Working Groups or the Sub Group and may invite any such person to specific meetings.

The representatives of various Ministries / Departments on the Working Group should not be below the level of Joint Secretary.

The non-official members of the Group will be paid TA / DA by Planning Commission as per SR 190 ( a ) for attending meetings of the Committee.

Shri Nirmal Singh, Director, C and I Division, Planning Commission would be the Coordinating Officer for the work relating to the Group and may be contacted at:
Room No.252, Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001. Tel. No.: 3718401 ; 3715481 / 2286
Fax No. : 3717681. E-mail :

The Group shall submit its report by 30th June, 2001.