Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:03.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Convergence and E-governance

Dated 23th April 2001


Sl.No Name and Designation Ministry/Deptt./ Organisation .
1. Shri R.P. Sinha, Principal Adviser (C and I) Planning Commission Chairman
2. Dr. A.K. Chakravarti, Adviser (IT) Ministry of IT Convenor
3. Director General, NIC Ministry of IT Member
4. Sr. DDG(LTP) Deptt. of Telecom - do -
5. Sr. DDG(CPT) Deptt. of Post - do -
6. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Andhra Pradesh - do -
7. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Maharashtra - do -
8 Secretary (IT) Govt. of Uttar Pradesh - do -
9. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Orissa - do-
10. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Punjab - do -
11. Director (Operations) Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd. - do -
12. Director (Finance) Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd. - do -
13. Representative Ministry of IT - do -
14. Representative Ministry of I and B - do -
15. Representative Deptt. of Personnel and and Administrative Reforms - do -
16. Representative Ministry of Law - do -
17. Representative Internet Service Providers Association - do -
18. Representative ASSOCHAM -do-
19. Representative NASSCOM - do -
20. Representative Association of Cable TV Operators - do -
21. Shri S.C. Khana, Secretary General Association of Basic Service Operators - do -
22. Representative SEWA, NGO -do-
23. Shri Kiran Karnik, MD Discovery Communications, India -do-
24. Shri Bhuvan Lal, Executive Director Indian Broadcasting Federation -do-
25. Sh U.K. Sharma, Deputy Adviser C and I Division, Planning Commission -do-

Terms of Reference:

  1. To take an integrated view of the development of telecommunications, IT and I and B sectors including the state of the industries, services and the technological developments in these areas; convergence of technology, delivery systems and applications and to determine the needs of the individual sectors as well as new services emerging out of convergence.
  2. To assess the infrastructural requirements for faster growth and penetration of Internet in the country and creation of convergence of services.
  3. To suggest measures for promotion of e-governance at various levels in the Government starting from Gram Panchayat level and to suggest strategy to be adopted in this regard.
  4. To suggest measures to address the issue of digital divide and taking the benefits of IT to the masses.
  5. To suggest measures for ensuring seamless transition to convergence of IT, telecommunication and information and broadcasting sectors.
  6. Any other item that the Working Group deems important for making recommendations upon.

The Working Group may set up Sub Groups to go into specific issues / areas in the sector and or for detailed information gathering and analysis. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any person whose knowledge or expertise is considered to be useful to the Working Groups or the Sub Group and may invite any such person to specific meetings.

The representatives of various Ministries / Departments on the Working Group should not be below the level of Joint Secretary.

The Group may hold joint meetings with the Working Group on Information Technology as and when required.

The non-official members of the Working Group will be paid TA / DA by Planning Commission as per SR 190 ( a ) for attending meetings of the Group.

Shri U.K. Sharma, Deputy Adviser, C and I Division, Planning Commission would be the Coordinating Officer for the work relating to the Group and may be contacted at:
Room No. 314-A, Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001. Tele. No. 3329286; 3715481 / Extn.2320;
Fax. No. 3717681; 3725491; and E-mail: uks453[at]hotmail[dot]com

The Working Group shall submit its report by 30th June, 2001.