Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:07.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Telecom Sector

Dated 23th April 2001


Sl. No Name and Designation Ministry/Dept./ Organisation .
1. Shri Shyamal Ghosh, Secretary Dept.of Telecom Chairman
2. Shri J. Ramanujam, Member (Services) Telecom Commission Convenor
3. Sr. DDG (LTP) Department of Telecom Member
4 Representative Ministry of IT - do -
5. Representative Ministry of Finance - do -
6. Representative Ministry of I and B - do -
7. Representative Deptt. of Space - do -
8. Director (Operations) Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd. - do -
9. Director (Finance) Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd. - do -
10. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Andhra Pradesh - do -
11. Secretary (IT) Govt. of Bihar - do -
12. Prof. Jhunjhunwala IIT, Chennai - do -
13. Shri T.V. Ramachandran Cellular Operators Association of India - do -
14. Shri S.C. Khana, Secretary General Association of Basic Service Operators - do -
15. Representative NASSCOM - do -
16. Representative CII - do -
17. Representative FICCI - do -
18. Representative Telecom Equipment Manufacturers Association (TEMA) - do -
19. Representative IDFC - do -
20. Shri Nirmal Singh, Director (C and I) Planning Commission - do -

Terms of Reference:

  1. To evolve Approach on Telecom Sector for the 10th Plan keeping in view the basic goal of development of world class telecom infrastructure for supporting accelerated growth of IT and other sectors of the economy, fulfilling the objectives of the New Telecom Policy (1999), convergence of services and markets, international scenario in the wake of WTO/IPR regimes and other relevant factors.
  2. To make recommendations on development of an appropriate system of telecom network in rural areas which should be affordable but self-financing and capable of supporting a multi-media system of communications.
  3. To make recommendations on the further restructuring/reforms required in the telecom sector in the post - convergence scenario.
  4. To suggest measures to be adopted for promoting private sector investment in the light of the experience gained so far and the requirement of funds for future growth.
  5. To review the performance of telecom equipment manufacturing sector so far, identify the constraints and make recommendations for evolving an appropriate policy to ensure growth on the pattern of software sector.
  6. Any other item that the Working Group, deems necessary to be included for making the recommendations useful.

The Working Group may set up Sub Groups to go into specific issues / areas in the sector and or for detailed information gathering and analysis. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any person whose knowledge or expertise is considered to be useful to the Working Groups or the Sub Group and may invite any such person to specific meetings.

The representatives of various Ministries / Departments on the Working Group should not be below the level of Joint Secretaries.

The non-official members of the Group will be paid TA / DA by Planning Commission as per SR 190 ( a ) for attending meetings of the Committee.

Shri Nirmal Singh, Director, C and I Division, Planning Commission would be the Coordinating Officer for the work relating to the Group and may be contacted at:
Room No.252, Yojna Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001. Tel. No.: 3718401 ; 3715481 / 2286
Fax No. : 3717681. E-mail:

The Group shall submit its report by 30th June, 2001.