Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:04.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Information and Broadcasting Sector

Dated 23th April 2001


Sl. No Name and Designation Ministry/Deptt./Organisation .
1. Shri Pawan Chopra, Secretary Ministry of I and B Chairman
2. Smt. A.C. Duggal, Joint Secretary Ministry of I and B Convenor
3. Mrs. Aruna Makhan, Addl. Secy. and FA Ministry of I and B Member
4. Shri Sudhir Sharma, Joint Secretary Ministry of I and B - do -
5. Shri Rakesh Mohan, Joint Secretary Ministry of I and B - do -
6. Representative Ministry of Finance - do -
7. Shri Anil Baijal, Addl. Secretary and CEO Prasar Bharati - do -
8. Director FTTI, Pune - do -
9. Shri Kiran Karnik, MD Discovery Communication India - do -
10. Shri Bhuvan Lal, Executive Director Indian Broadcasting Federation - do -
11. Shri Alyque Padamsee Communication Specialist - do -
12 Director IIMC - do -
13 Shri Ram Gopal Bajaj, Director National School of Drama - do -
14 President Indian Motion Picture Producers’ Association - do -
15 Representative Indian Film Distributor Association - do -
16 Shri Mark Tully Journalist -do-
17 Shri Prabhu Chawala Media Person -do-
18 Shri M.K. Ghosh Director (I) Planning Commission - do-

Terms of Reference:

  1. To evolve Approach to the Information and Broadcasting sector for the 10th Plan keeping in view the emerging trends in radio, television and IT enabled media applications.
  2. To examine the extent to which expansion of transmission network is needed and the best way to provide the reach of radio and television signals to the uncovered areas.
  3. To assess the total needs of investment in broadcasting infrastructure including that for content creation and software and to assess the extent of private investment that may come forward in the 10th Plan period and beyond and as to what steps should be taken to stimulate private investment.
  4. To assess the human resources needed for the telecommunications, broadcasting, media, internet and IT and to suggest road map for making the same available.
  5. To assess the status of the Film Industry and to suggest policy measures and other steps necessary to ensure production of good, socially relevant and aesthetically creative films.
  6. To take a look at the needs of government publicity including sectoral publicity programmes and to re-assess institutional arrangements for bringing out Government publications, advertisements and media products.
  7. Any other item that the Working Group deems necessary to be included for making the recommendations useful.

The Working Group may set up Sub Groups to go into specific issues / areas in the sector and or for detailed information gathering and analysis. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any person whose knowledge or expertise is considered to be useful to the Working Groups or the Sub Group and may invite any such person to specific meetings.

The representatives of various Ministries / Departments on the Working Group should not be below the level of Joint Secretaries.

The non-official members of the Group will be paid TA / DA by Planning Commission as per SR 190 ( a ) for attending meetings of the Committee.

Shri M.K. Ghosh, Director, C and I Division, Planning Commission would be the Coordinating Officer for the work relating to the Group and may be contacted at:
Room No.408, Yojna Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001. Tel. No.: 3725492 ; 3715481 / 2428
Fax No. : 3717681. E-mail :

The Group shall submit its report by 30th June, 2001.