Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:07.

Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Secondary Education

Dated 7th December 2000


1. Shri M.K. Kaw, Secretary, Deptt. of Secondary and Higher Education, Shastri Bhavan, Min. of H.R.D. New Delhi. Chairman
2. Shri K.S. Sarma, Addl. Secretary (Education), Min. of H.R.D., Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi. Member
3. Prof. J.S. Rajput, Director (NCERT), Sri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi-16. -do-
4. Prof. B.P. Khandelwal, Director (NIEPA), Sri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi-16. -do-
5. Shri Ashok Ganguly, Chairman, Central Board of Secondary Education, 2, Community Centre,
Preet Vihar, Delhi - 110092.
6. Shri V.S. Pande, Joint Secy.(Planning), Deptt. of Secondary and Higher Education, Min. of H.R.D.,
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
7. Prof. A.K. Basu, SRI, BARIATU, Ranchi-834009, Jharkand. -do-
8. Prof. A.K. Sacheti, PSSCIVE (NCERT), 131 Zone -II, M.P. Nagar, Bhopal-462011. -do-
9. Director (Vocational Training), Ministry of Labour, Shrama Shakti Bhavan, Rafi Marg, New Delhi-110001. Member
10. Prof. N.K. Ambashat, Chairman, National Open School, 31-B/31, Kailash Colony, New Delhi. -do-
11. Shri S.V. Giri, Vice Chancellor, Shri Sathya Sai Instt. Of Higher Learning. -do-
12. Mrs. Sushma Choudhary, Secretary(HE.), Jammu and Kashmir, Jammu. -do-
13. Shri Syed Shahid Mehdi, Vice Chancellor, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi. -do-
14. Dr. Kirit Joshi, Chairman, ICPR, New Delhi. -do-
15. Dr. M.L Sondhi, Chairman, ICSSR, JNU Campus, New Delhi. -do-
16. Dr. A.N. Maheshwari, Chairman, NCTE, New Delhi. -do-
17. Prof. K. Chandrasekharan, Faith India Bhavan, Poothancruz Post, Ennakulum, Kerala-682308. -do-
18. Secretary (Education), Govt. of Haryana, Chandigarh. -do-
19. Secretary (Education), Govt. of Kamataka, Vidhan Soudha, Bangalore. -do-
20. Shri F. Fanthome, Chief Executive and Secretary, Council for the Indian School, Certificate Examination,
Nehru Place, New Delhi-110019.
21. Dr. Ajaya Kumar Mishra, Chairman, SANKALP, Khuntia Sahi, Puri-752001, Orissa. -do-
22. Dr. G.L. Jambulkar, Dy. Adv., Education Division, Planning Commission. -do-
23. Shri M.M. Jha, JS(SE), Deptt. of Secondary and Higher Education, Min. of H.R.D., Shastri Bhavan,
New Delhi-110001.

Terms of Reference :

  1. To examine and review the progress of implementation including finance of different schemes in the Secondary Education sector.
  2. Suggest measures to have qualitative improvement of curriculum, enrolment of students and facilities in schools.
  3. To review and upgrade the curriculum and Text-books to meet the emerging needs. Integration of population education, Culture and value education, languages, Integrated Education for disabled children (special education) etc. in the syllabus of Secondary Education.
  4. Ways and Means to implement examination reform measures.
  5. Suggest measures to strengthen autonomous organizations in general and KVS and NVS in particular.
  6. To involve Panchayati Raj Institutions at village, block and district levels with a view to effective implementation of different schemes/programmes in Secondary sector.
  7. Suggest ways to incorporate IT particularly the Computer Education with the educational system.
  8. Suggest ways to include Community/NGOs effectively in the implementation of several CS/CSS in the Secondary sector.
  9. Examine Critically the following
    1. Strengthening implementation of Vocational Education at Secondary and Senior Secondary level. National level examination. Apprenticeships Training, Creation of Production-cum-Training Centres, Vocational Guidance, Placement etc.
    2. Suggest specific programmes for backward States/regions/areas, special education for Disability groups/Communities, Minorities Education, Education for Women and Girls etc.
    3. Convergence of similar CS/CSS to avoid duplicating of efforts and overlapping and reduce the number of schemes/programmes.

In the context of the formulation of the Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007), it has been decided to set up a Working Group on Secondary Education under the Department of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development.

The Chairman of the Working Group if deemed necessary may constitute sub-groups and/or may co-opt additional members.

The expenditure on TA/DA etc. of official members in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the parent department/Ministry/organization to which the member belongs. Non-official members will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I officers of the Government of India and this expenditure will be borne by the Convenor Department.

The Working Group will finalize its report by June 30th 2001.