Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:09.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Health Care for Women and Children

Dated 10th January 2001


1 Secretary, Department of Family Welfare, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. Chairman
2. Member Secretary/Representative, National Commission on Population, Yojana Bhavan, Parliament Street, New Delhi- 110011 Member
3. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of Health, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. -do-
4. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of ISM and H, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Red Cross Building, New Delhi -do-
5. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -do-
6 Dr. Sarala Gopalan, Prof. and Head, Obstetric and Gynaecology, P.G.I., Chandigarh -do-
7 Dr. (Mrs.) Prema Ramachandran, Adviser (Health) Planning Commission Parliament Street, New Delhi- 11 0001 -do-
8. Ms. Anuradha Johri, SIFPSA, Om Kailash Tower, 19- A, Vidhan Soudha Marg, Lucknow-226001 -do-
9. Secretary (Health and FW), Govt. of Rajasthan, Jaipur -do-
10. Secretary (Health and FW), Govt. of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram -do-
11. Dr. Sashi Vani, Deptt. of Paediatrics, B. J. Medical College, Ahmedabad. -do-
12. Dr. Prema Krishna Svvamy Chief, Prema Clinic, 15, Murray's Gate Road, Alwarpet, Chinnai-18 -do-
13. President/Representative, Confederation of Indian Industries, 23-26, Institutional Area. Lodi Road, New Delhi- 110003. do-
14. Secretary/Representative, Centre for Indian Trade Union, 15, Talkatora Road, New Delhi- 110001. -do-
15. General Secretary/Representative, All India Trade Union Congress, 24, Canning Lane, New Delhi- 11 0001 -do-
16. Director, JANANI (Bihar) Local Office: B-l 8, South Extension, New Delhi -do-
17 President, Tamil Nadu Voluntary Health Association, 18, Appadurai Main Street, Ayanavaram, Chennai-600023 Tamil Nadu -do-
18. Director, Ramakrishna Mission Hospital, Itanagar-791113, Arunachal Pradesh -do-
19. Deputy Commissioner (MH/ RSS), Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. Member-Secretary

Terms of reference :

  1. To assess estimated disease burden in women and children as of 1991, 1996 and 2001.
    • Source of data
    • Accuracy, reliability, geographic distribution
    • Problems in making estimates
    • Suggested remedial measures in ongoing programmes
    • To assess the achievement in reproductive health vis-a-vis targets set in the National Population Policy 2000 and to set targets for Tenth Plan period and beyond;
    • Initiatives during Tenth Plan to obtain better estimates
  2. To review ongoing major reproductive health programmes
    • Objectives, strategy, targets and achievement, outlays and expenditure during 9th Plan period
    • Problems identified, midcourse corrections made during the 9th Plan
    • Proposed strategy, objectives, programmes, targets and outlays during the Tenth Plan
    • Health manpower - current status, projected requirements, initiatives to achieve required type and number of manpower
  3. To review the functioning of family welfare infrastructure and manpower in rural and urban areas and suggest measures for rationalizing, restructuring the infrastructure, strategies for improving efficiency of implementation of the programme and for the delivery of services.
  4. To suggest methods for improving reproductive health activities at secondary and tertiary care levels;
    • Improving NGO/private sector/organized sector Involvement in reproductive health services
    • Increasing financial resources available for reproductive health
    • Improving utilization of existing facilities.

The Chairman may form sub-groups and co-opt official or non-official members as needed.

The TA/DA of non-official members of the Committee will be paid by the Department of Family Welfare as admissible under Govt. rules. The TA/DA of the official members would be paid by the respective Govt. Departments/Institutions to which they belong.

The Working Group may submit its report by 30th April, 2001.