Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:09.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Implementation of Population Policy and Rapid Population Stabilization

Dated 10th January 2001


1. Secretary, Department of Family Welfare, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. Chairman
2. Member Secretary/Representative, National Commission on Population, Yojana Bhavan, Parliament Street, New Delhi- 110011 Member
3. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of Health, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. -do-
4. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of ISM and H, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Red Cross Building, New Delhi. -do-
5. Secretary/ Representative, Department of Elementary Education and Literacy, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi. -do-
6. Secretary/ Representative, Ministry of Rural Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi. -do-
7. Secretary/ Representative, Deptt. of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -do-
8. Director General/ Representative, Director General Health Services, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. -do-
9 Director/ Representative, International Institute for Population Sciences, Govandi Station Road, Deonar, Mumbai -do-
10. Director, National Institute of Health and Family Welfare Munirka, New Delhi -do-
11. Dr. (Mrs.) Prema Ramachandran, Adviser (Health), Planning Commission, Parliament Street, New Delhi- 11 0001 -do-
12 Registrar General of India/ Representative, Office of RGI, 2-A, Man Singh Road, New Delhi -do-
13 Dr. Parveen Visaria, Director, Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi University, Delhi-7. -do-
14. The President/ Representative, Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Federation House, Tansen Marg, New Delhi- 110001 -do-
15. General Secretary/Representative, Indian National Trade Union Congress, Sharmik Kendra, 4, Bhai Veer Singh Marg, New Delhi- 110001 -do-
16 President/Representative, Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh, Ram Naresh Bhavan, Tilak Gali, Chuna Mandi, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi-110055 -do-
17. DG/ Representative Central Statistical Organization, Sardar Patel Bhavan, Parliament Street, New Delhi- 110001 -do-
18. Secretary (Healths/Representative, Govt. of Punjab, Punjab Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh- 160019. -do-
19. Secretary (H and FW)/Representative, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, Vallabh Bhavan, Bhopal-462004 -do-
20. Dr. Joseph Abraham, Joint Adviser (FR), Planning Commission, New Delhi. -do-
21 Dr. K.V. Rao, Chief Director (DRS), Deptt. of Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi. Member-Secretary

Terms of reference :

  1. 1. To review:
    1. the current demographic projections for the Tenth Plan (2002-2007) and beyond and the time by which the country's population is likely to stabilize;
    2. goals indicated in the National Population Policy (NPP) 2000.
  2. Keeping in view the current Mortality, Fertility and Couple Protection Rate prevailing at present in different states to suggest
    1. future strategy for achieving population stabilization as early as possible;
    2. fixation of targets for the Tenth Plan i.e. by the terminal year 2007 and individual years for birth rate and IMR statewise;
    3. fixation of targets statewise for couple protection rates, immunization/ante natal, intrapartum neonatal and child health services;
  3. To assess the current status and future requirement (short, medium and long-term) of demographic, bio-medical, social and behavioral research aimed at meeting the felt needs for health care of women and children and contraception during the Tenth Plan.
  4. To project financial implications for implementation of the family welfare programme during the X Plan including the plan and non-plan requirements and the Centre-State participation in the funding.

The Chairman may form sub-groups and co-opt official or non-official members as needed.

The TA/DA of non-official members of the Committee will be paid by the Department of Family Welfare as admissible under Govt. rules. The TA/DA of the official members would be paid by the respective Govt. Departments/Institutions to which they belong.

The Working Group may submit its report by 30th April 2001.