Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 03 2014 16:55:11.Working Group for the formulation of Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007).

Health Care Services (Public, Voluntary and Private) at Primary, Secondary and Tertiary and Super Speciality Care with focus on Underserved Areas and Vulnerable Population

Dated 10th January 2001


Secretary (Health) Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi Chairman
Secretary (FW)* Department of Family Welfare, Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi- 110011 Member
Secretary (Health) Government of Orissa Bhubaneshwar Member
Shri D.S. Mathur Secretary (Health) Govt. of Madhya Pradesh Member
Deputy Director General Rural Health Services Directorate General of Health Services Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi- 110011 Member
Director, CBHI, DGHS, Pushpa Bhavan, New Delhi Member
Dr. Prema Ramachandran, Adviser (Health) Planning Commission New Delhi Member
J Director General, Armed Forces Medical Services, M-Block, Defence Head Qrs. New Delhi- 11 Member
Director General (Health Services) * Railway Medical Services, Rail Bhavan, New Delhi- 1 Member
Medical Commissioner, Employees State Insurance Corporation^ ESIC Building, Temple Lane, Koda Road, New Delhi Member
Dr. Abhay Bang Gadchiroli Maharashtra Member
Director TISCO Hospital Jamshedpur Member
Director KEM Hospital, Pune Member
Mrs. Imrana Qadir, Professor Centre of Community Health JNU Member
Dr. N.H. Antia, The Foundation for Research in Community Health 84-A.R.G. Thadani Marg, Worli,Mumbai – 400018. Member
Ms. Mira Shiva, Voluntary Health Association of India, 40 Institutional Area Near Qutab Hotel New Delhi –16. Member
Dr. Rajesh Tandon, PRIA 42, Thuglakabad Institutional Area New Delhi 110062 Member
Dr. Deodhar, 134/1/20, Baner Road Aundh, Pune - 411009. Member
Director, General Council for Advancement of People's Action and Rural Technology (CAP ART) Ministry of Rural Development India Habitat.Centre Lodi Road New Delhi Member
Director CMC Ludhiana Member
Secretary (Health) Govt. of Uttar Pradesh Member
Mrs. Sheela Rani Chunkath (Former Family Welfare Secretary Tamil Nadu) Commissioner State Pollution Control Board Tamil Nadu Member
Mrs. Sujatha Rao Joint Secretary Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Nirman Bhavan, New Delhi - 110011. Member Secretary

(* - In case members cannot attend for unavoidable reasons, they may depute their nominee.)

Terms of reference :

  1. To review existing scenario of health care in urban and rural areas:
    • in Govt. NGO and private sector
    • modern system of medicine and ISM and H
    • implementation of major health and family welfare programmes through primary, secondary and tertiary care system.
    • Mechanism for screening and referral of patients, so that they receive - Appropriate care at appropriate level Manpower position at various levels Utilization of available facilities
    • Funding/expenditure patterns for health care.
  2. To review:
    • The public health system, HMIS, disease surveillance mechanism and machinery in the country, its capability to provide up-to-date information for effective timely response to prevent/limit disease out breaks and to provide effective relief measures; and
  3. To suggest modification in policies, priorities and programmes during 10th Plan period:
    1. Priority areas of research to investigate alternative strategies
    2. Mid-course correction of ongoing activities
    3. New initiatives
    4. Strategies to improve quality and coverage of services at affordable cost; to cope with existing, reemerging and new challenges in communicable diseases, emerging problems of non-communicable diseases due to increasing longevity, life style changes and environmental degradation;
    5. Provide all these services through existing primary and secondary health care system in an integrated fashion;
    6. Improve disease surveillance, HMIS, effective timely response;
    7. To indicate Manpower requirement and financial outlays required for implementation of these programmes during the 10th Plan period.

The Chairman of the Working Group, if deemed necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups and also co-opt additional members. The Working Group may submit the report by 31st March, 2001.

The TA/DA of non-official members will be paid by the Department of Health, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare as admissible under Government Rues. The TA/DA of official members would be borne by the Parent Department/Ministry/Organisation.