Steering Committee for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Science and Technology

Dated 21st February 2006

In the context of the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan  (2007-2012) for the Science and Technology Sector, it has been decided to constitute a Steering Committee on Science and Technology under the Chairmanship of Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India.  The composition and the terms of reference of the Steering Committee would be as follows:

I. Composition

1 Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to GOI   Chairman
2 Prof. V.L. Chopra, Member, Planning Commission Co-Chairman
3 Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy   Member
4 Dr. G. Madhavan Nair,  Secretary, Department of Space  Member
5 Dr. V.S. Ramamurthy, Secretary, D/O Science and Technology Member
6 Dr. R.A. Mashelkar, Secretary, D/O Scientific and Industrial Research  Member
7 Dr. M.K. Bhan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology Member
8 Dr. P.S. Goel, Secretary, Department of Ocean Development Member
9 Shri M. Natarajan, Secretary, DRDO and Scientific Adviser to RM Member
10 Dr. N.K. Ganguly, Director General, ICMR Member
11 Dr. Mangala Rai, Director General, ICAR Member
12 President, Indian National Science Academy Member
13 President, National Academy of Sciences Member
14 President, Indian Academy of Sciences Member
15 President, Indian National Academy of Engineering Member
16 Prof. P. Balram, Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Member
17 Chairman, University Grants Commission    Member
18 Prof. Deepak Pental, Vice Chancellor, University of Delhi   Member
19 Prof. M.S. Ananth, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai Member
20 Prof. P. Venkatarangan, Vice Chancellor, Amrita Vidyapeeth, Coimbatore Member
21 Dr. A.E. Muthunayagam, Executive Vice President, Kerala State S and T Council  Member
22 Dr. V. Sumantran, Ex-Executive Director, Tata Motors Limited Member
23 Dr. Kiran  Majumdar Shaw, CMD, Biocon Ltd.  Member
24 Prof. (Ms) Rohini Madhusudan Godbole, Centre for Theoretical Studies, IISc, Bangalore Member
25 Prof. M.V.S Valiathan, National Professor, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal  Member
26 Dr.  M.S. Bamji, Emertius Scientist, Dangori Charitable Trust, Hyderabad Member
27 Dr. Sudha Nair, Director, MS Swaminathan Foundation, Chennai  Member
28 President, CII   Member
29 Prof. Anand Patwardhan, Executive Director, TIFAC  Member
30 Dr. S.K. Sikka, Scientific Secretary to PSA to GOI   Member Secretary
31 Dr. S. Chatterjee,  Senior Scientist, Office of PSA to GOI Convener

II  Terms of Reference

  1. To evolve a vision and develop an approach for Science and Technology for the Eleventh Five year Plan in the light of global developments and our country’s needs.
  2. To make an analytical assessment (SWOT) of the performance of schemes/programmes pursued by Central S and T Departments.
  3. To identify thrust areas for the Eleventh Five Year Plan and suggest their inter-se priorities.
  4. To suggest ways by which inter-agency and inter-institutional collaborations are leveraged for higher efficiencies and better outcomes.
  5. To suggest means of catalyzing Industry-Academia collaborations for development, application and flow of technologies from lab to the market place and for the industry to invest more in strengthening national level S and T infrastructure.
  6. To recommend strategies for developing high quality S and T human resource including attracting the bright to a rewarding career in science. 
  7. To suggest strategies for expanding and strengthening societal applications of technologies for improving the quality of life of the Indian population.
  8. To suggest measures for kindling innovative spirit so that scientists translate R and D leads into scalable technologies which yield wealth generating products and processes.
  9. To identify areas of international S and T cooperation/collaboration and setting up of world class R and D facilities in the country with participation from other countries.
  10. To suggest parameters for scientific audit and performance measurement of scientists and scientific institutions to inject efficiencies and maximize impacts.
  11. To suggest plans and programmes for the various Central S and T Departments based on the policy, vision, approach, thrust and priorities of the S and T Sector. These should take into consideration the concept of Zero-based budgeting, convergence of ongoing schemes, weeding out of the schemes which are no-longer relevant and completion of ongoing schemes on a priority basis. To suggest an optimum outlay for the S and T sector, comprising of the on-going commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken.

III. The Chairman may constitute Working Groups/Sub-groups as considered necessary and co-opt members for specific inputs.

IV. The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Steering Committee in respect of the official members will be borne by their respective Ministry/Department. However, in the case of non-official members, they will be entitled for TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I Officials of the Government of India and the expenditure in this regard would be met by the Planning Commission.

V. The Secretariat support for the Steering Committee meetings would be provided by the Office of the PSA/Technology Information, Forecasting and Assessment Council (TIFAC).

VI. The Steering Committee would submit its report before 31st August, 2006

<< Back to Index

^^ Top