Steering Committee for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

North Eastern Region

Dated 20th April, 2006

In the context of preparation of the 11th Five Year Plan, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee for the North Eastern Region. The composition of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

1. Shri B.N. Yugandhar Member (North East) Planning Commission, New Delhi Chairman
2. Shri P.P. Srivastav, Member, North Eastern Council, Shillong Co-Chairman
3. Dr.(Mrs) I.K. Barthakur, Member, North Eastern Council, Shillong Co-Chairman
4. Secretary, Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER),New Delhi Member
5. Secretary, North Eastern Council, Shillong Member
6. Dr. Jayant Madhav, Advisor to Chief Minister, Assam Member
7. Shri Sanjoy Hazarika, Managing Trustee, Centre for North East Studies and Policy Research, D-6, 610/5, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110070 Member
8. Ms. Leena Srivastava, Executive Director, The Energy and Resources Institute, Darbari Seth Block, IHC Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003 Member
9. Dr. M.P. Lama Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi- 110067 Member
10. Shri Dipankar Chatterji, Chairman, National Committee on North East Confederation of Indian Industry 23, Institutional Area, Lodi Road, New Delhi-110003 Member
11. Shri P.K. Datta, Executive Director, Consulting Engineering Services (India) Pvt Ltd, 57, Nehru Place, New Delhi 110067 Member
12. Representative from Tata Consultancy Services Member
13. Representative from National Productivity Council, Lodhi Road, New Delhi Member
14. Dr. M. Govindarao Director National Institute of Public Finance and Policy (NIPFP) 18/2 Satsang Vihar Marg, Special Institutional Area (Near JNU),New Delhi-110067 Member
15. Dr. A.K. Sengupta, Director, Institute of Development Studies, Lucknow University, Lucknow Member
16. Prof. Atul Sarma, Vice Chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh Member
17. Shri R.S. Pandey, former Chief Secretary, Nagaland Member
18. Shri G.K. Pillai, Special Secretary, Ministry of Commerce, Udyog Bhavan, New Delhi Member
19. Mrs. Suman Swarup, Former Principal Adviser(NE), Planning Commission, New Delhi Member
20. Adviser(SP-NE) Planning Commission, New Delhi Member Secretary
21. Sh. F.R. Ingty, Former Adviser(Industry), NEC, Dhankheti- Shillong 793003 Member
22. Dr. Atul Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar Member

2. The Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee on NER will be as under:

  1. To formulate the strategy for accelerated development of North Eastern Region with special reference to infrastructure, agriculture and industry;
  2. Suggest policies and programmes of special importance for the Region to be implemented by the Central and the State Governments during the 11 Plan;
  3. Suggest special intervention required, including change in guidelines for various Central and Centrally Sponsored Schemes, with special reference to requirements of NER;
  4. To identify projects of regional importance in key areas of employment, infrastructure, health, education, agriculture and industry;
  5. Review the existing programmes and policies being implemented by the States in the NER, including NEC, and to suggest changes/modifications, if any, for improving programme implementation;
  6. Assess the financial requirements for development of the region during 11th Plan;
  7. Any other subject relevant to the accelerated progress of the region during 11th Plan

3.  The Steering Committee may co-opt such official(s) or non-official(s) as member(s) of the Committee as may be considered necessary.

4.  The expenditure on TA/DA of official members in connection with the meetings of the Committee will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry to which the official belongs as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. The non-official members of the Committee will be entitled to TA/DA as permissible to Grade 1 officers of the Government of India under SR 190(a) and this expenditure will be borne by the Planning Commission.

5.  The Steering Committee will submit its report to the Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, by the end of June, 2006.

6.  The State Plan Division of the Planning Commission will provide the secretariat for the Steering Committee.

7.  Shri S.N.Brohmo Choudhury, Director, State Plan (NE), Division, Room No. 462. Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi Tel. No. 23096557 will be the Nodal Officer for this Steering Committee for all further communications.

<< Back to Index

^^ Top