Steering Committee for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Water Resources

Dated 7th March 2006

It has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Water Resources for the formulation of Eleventh Five Year Plan with the following composition.

1.Member (Water and Energy), Planning Commission Chairman
2.Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources Member
3.Secretary, Department of Drinking Water Supply Member
4.Managing Director, NABARD Member
5.Adviser (WR), Planning Commission Non Official Members Member-Convener
6.Prof A.Vaidyanathan (Former Member, Planning Commission) Member
7.Shri A.K.Goswami (Former Secretary, DoDWS and MOWR) Member
8.Prof Subhash Chander (Former Professor and Head of Civil Engineering Department, HT Delhi) Member
9.Prof. Dilip Biswas (Former Chairman, Centra! Pollution Control Board) Member

2. The Terms of Reference to the Committee will be

  1. To review the progress and to guide the Working Group on Water Resources on approach, strategy, objectives and targets for the programmes of water sector.
  2. To consider the Approach Paper and Action Plan for Rural Water Supply and Sanitation and recommend the strategy for these two sub sectors for the
    Eleventh Plan.

3. The Steering Committee will devise its own procedure and may co-opt any other official/non official Member, if necessary.

4.The expenditure on TA/DA of official Members in connection with the meetings of the Committee will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry/ Organization as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. This expenditure in respect of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission as per SR190 (a).

5. The Steering Committee will submit its report to Planning Commission by September 30th, 2006.

6.Shri A.Sekhar, Adviser (Water Resources) (Telephone 011-23096578) will be the nodal officer for this Steering Committee and any further correspondence / query may please be made with him.

<< Back to Index

^^ Top