Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Occupational Safety and Health

Dated 3rd March 2006

In the context of preparation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012), it has been decided to set up a Working Group on Occupational Safety and Health with the following composition:

1. Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Employment, Government of India, Shram Shakti Bhavan, New Delhi - 110001. Chairman
2. Secretary (or his nominee), Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India, Knshi Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
3. Secretary (or his nominee), Ministry of Mines, Government of India, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi -110001. Member
4. Secretary (or his nominee), Ministry of Road Transport and Highways., Government of India, Transport Bhavan, 1, Parliament Street, New Delhi- 110 001. Member
5. Principal Adviser (Health), Planning Commission. Member
6. Director, National Institute of Occupational Health, Meghani Nagar, Ahmedabad- 380016. Member
7. Director General, National Safety Council, Plot No. 98-A, Institutional Area, Sector 15,CBD Belapur, Post Box No. 62, P.O. Konkan Bhavan, Navi Mumbai- 400 614. Member
8. Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research, Post Box No. 4911, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi - 110029. Member
9. Secretary (Labour), Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Room No. 620-A, Mumbai - 400032. Member
10. Secretary (Labour), Government of Karnataka, M.S. Building, Bangalore-560001. Member
11. Secretary (Mines), Government of Madhya Pradesh, D-4/13, Charimli, Bhopal, Bhopal - 452004. Member
12. Secretary (Mines), Government of Jharkhand, HEC, Mantralaya, Project Bldg., Dhurba, Ranchi - 834001. Member
13. Secretary (Labour), Government of Rajasthan, secretariat, Jaipur -302005. Member
14. Secretary (Labour), Government of Haryana, Haryana Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh — 160001. Member
15. Adviser (Labour, Employment and Manpower), Planning Commission. Member
16. Joint Secretary (Occupational Safety and Health), Ministry of Labour and Employment, Government of India, Rafi Marg, New Delhi -110001. Convener

2. The Terms of Reference of the Working Group will be :

  1. To review the existing set up for Occupational Safety and Health in the work place and to suggest ways to improve it.
  2. To examine the efficacy of the administrative machinery under the State Governments to ensure Occupational Safety and Health to the workers in factories and other non-agricultural establishments through the institution of "Factory Inspector" which exists under the Factories Act, and any other relevant Act(s).
  3. To suggest the modalities for setting up of a National Board of Occupational Safety and Health so as to develop service providers /a band of professionals who are proficient in assessing the health and occupational safety at workplace.
  4. To suggest such other measures as may be necessary to ensure occupational health and safety of workers in (i) the agricultural occupations and (ii) non-agricultural occupations, in particular, workers in non-registered factories, road transport, shops, eating establishments, printing, dyeing chemical storage and handling etc.
  5. To suggest ways to improve occupational safety and health practices in low income but high workers density occupation clusters.
  6. To examine the efficacy of regulations concerning the health and safety implemented by Government Departments other than Labour' such as Explosive Act, Boiler Act, etc.

3. The Chairman of the Working Group may include any additional term(s) of reference in consultation with Member (Labour and Employment), Planning Commission, who is also the Chairman of the Steering Committee on Labour and Employment.

4. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other expert as Member of the Working Group.

5. The Working Group will submit its report by April 30, 2006. The Working Group will be serviced by the Ministry of Labour and Employment.