Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)


Dated 20th April, 2006

It has been decided to constitute a Working Group on Power in the context of preparation of Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012).  The composition and Terms of Reference of the Group will be as follows:

A.   Composition

1 Secretary, Ministry of Power Chairman
2 Adviser (Energy), Planning Commission Member
3 Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority Member
4 Representative of Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources Member
5 Representative of Department of Atomic Energy Member
6 Representative of Ministry of Coal Member
7 Representative of Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas Member
8 Representative of Ministry of Environment and Forests Member
9 Representative of Department of Science and Technology Member
10 Member (Planning), Central Electricity Authority Member Secretary
  Private Sector Representatives  
13 Representative of Reliance Energy Company Member
14 Representative of  Tata Electric Company Member
15 Representative of   Torrent Electric Company Member
16 Shri Girish Sant, PRAYAS Member
17 Shri Navroj Dubash, NIPFP Member
18 Prof. Anoop Singh, IIT Kanpur Member

B. Terms of Reference

  1. To review the Integrated Energy Policy Report and suggest measures to operationalise its recommendations during the Eleventh Plan Period.
  2. To review the status of various policies notified under the provisions of Electricity Act, 2003 and identify steps needed to realize the objectives of the Electricity Act, 2003. 
  3. To recommend an industry structure that would enhance the number of players, promote competition, provide a  consistent and transparent pricing regime and raise conversion, transmission, distribution and end use efficiency.
  4. To review the likely achievement during the Tenth Plan period in meeting targets set for Generation, Transmission, Distribution and Renovation and Modernisation (R and M). An analysis of the reasons for shortfalls, if any, may be highlighted.
  5. To review the current status of captive generation in the country, highlight issues facing this sub sector and make recommendations for enhancing/reducing captive generation during the Eleventh Plan period. 
  6. To review the effectiveness of Eleventh Plan Schemes such as Accelerated Generation and Supply Programme (AG and SP), Accelerated Power Development and Reforms Programme (APDRP) and Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana (RGGVY). To suggest modifications and/or give recommendations for scrapping these schemes or replacing them with alternative schemes to better address the desired objectives.
  7. To assess the State-wise/region-wise demand for power in terms of both peak and energy requirements.
  8. To recommend the optimal mix of additional generating capacity to be created during the Eleventh Plan period in terms of hydro, thermal (coal, gas, lignite and liquid fuel) and nuclear generation on the basis of relative economics of different fuels at different locations.  The executing agency of the project i.e. State Sector, Central Sector or Private Sector should also be  identified.  A possible listing of the projects and their phasing for benefits during Eleventh Plan must be prepared. Advance action to be taken in the Eleventh Plan period for the Twelfth Plan projects may also be identified.
  9. To assess the potential for improving availability of power from existing power stations through Renovation and Modernisation/life extension.
  10. To maximise benefit from the existing plants by improving their operational efficiency and capacity utilization, improvement and augmentation of Transmission and Distribution network and dealing effectively with the problem of  Aggregate Technical and Commercial (AT and C) losses and theft of power.
  11. To review the on-going reform process undertaken by States in the power sector. 
  12. To assess if privatisation is an answer to address the ills of the Power Sector.
  13. To suggest energy conservation measures through  Demand Side Management (DSM) such as staggering of load, time of the day metering and pricing, reduction in the energy intensity of the large consumers etc.
  14. To recommend the operational norms for thermal including Gas, Liquid fuel and nuclear generations.
  15. To develop a work plan to tackle problems in ash disposal, pollution and other environmental issues.
  16. To make recommendations regarding S and T programme to be implemented in the Eleventh Plan period and the institutional arrangements necessary therefor.
  17. To explore avenues for purchase of power from neighbouring countries through joint venture schemes. 
  18. To assess the investment requirement for the Eleventh Plan in the Power Sector.
  19. To assess the infra-structural support such as transportation, port facilities, construction and manufacturing capabilities, roads etc. that would be required for implementation of the Eleventh and Twelfth five year Plans.

2. In order to assist the Working Group in its task, separate  Sub-Groups on specific aspects may  be formed by the Working Group .  These Sub-Groups will furnish their reports to the Working Group.

3. The Chairman of the Working Group  may co-opt experts as may be considered necessary.

4. The Working Group  will submit its report to the Planning Commission latest by 30th September,  2006

5. Non-official members shall be entitled to payment of TA/DA by the Planning Commission as per SR 190(a). Official members will be entitled to payment of TA/DA by their respective Departments/Organizations, as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. 

6. The name(s) of the Representative(s) of various organizations, as per the above composition may be communicated to the Member-Secretary of the Working Group  under intimation to Shri Surya P. Sethi, Adviser (Energy), Planning Commission.

7. Shri R.K. Kaul, Joint Adviser, Planning Commission, Room No.503, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi-110 001 (Telephone No. 2309 6718), shall be the Nodal Officer for this Working Group and for any further query/correspondence may be made with him.