Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

R and D for Energy Sector

Dated 9th May, 2006

It has been decided to constitute a Working Group on R and D for Energy Sector in the context of the preparation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012).  The Composition and Terms of Reference of the Group will be as follows:

A. Composition:

1 Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to Government of India Chairman
  Representatives of the Ministries  
2 Secretary, Department of Science and Technology Member
3 Adviser (Energy), Planning Commission Member
4 Adviser (S and T), Planning Commission Member
5 Executive Director, Technology Information Forecasting and Assessment Council (TIFAC) Member
6 Representative of Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Member
7 Representative of Department of Atomic Energy Member
8 Head, Center for Energy Studies, Institute of Information Technology (IIT), Delhi Member
9 Head, R and D Centre, Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) Member
10 Head R and D Centre, National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) Member
11 Chairman and Managing Director, Centre Mine Planning and Design Institute Member
12 Representative from Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Member
13 Director (R and D), Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) Member
14 Shri Neeraj Sinha, Scientist (E), Office of the Principal Scientific Adviser Member-Secretary

B. Terms of Reference

The terms of reference of the Working Group will be as under:

  1. To evolve a vision and develop an approach for R and D in the Energy Sector for the Eleventh Five Year Plan and beyond.
  2. To identify thrust area for the Eleventh Plan and suggest there inter-se priorities.
  3. To suggest ways by which inter-institutional collaboration are leveraged for higher efficiencies better outcomes.
  4. To suggest strategies for expanding and strengthening societal application for energy technologies for improving the quality of life of the Indian population.
  5. To explore the mechanisms for funding R and D in the energy sector and assess the requirement of funds for the Eleventh Five Year Plan.
  6. To suggest means of catalyzing industry academia collaboration for development and application of energy technologies.
  7. To identify energy technologies which can be taken up under mission mode and co-coordinated R and D.

2. In order to assist the Working Group in its task, separate Sub-Groups on specific aspects may be formed by the Working Group. These sub-Groups will furnish their reports to the Working Group.

3. The Chairman of the Working Group may-co-opt other Experts as may be considered necessary.

4. The Working Group will submit its report to the Planning Commission latest by the 30th September, 2006.

5. Non-official members of the Working Group shall be entitled to payment of TA/DA from Planning Commission as per SR 190 (a). Official members will be paid TA/DA by their respective Departments/Organizations as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them.

6. The name(s) of representative(s) of various organizations as per the above composition may be communicated to the Member-Secretary of the Working Group under intimation to Shri Surya P. Sethi, Adviser (Energy), Planning Commission.

7. Shri M. Satyamurty, Joint Adviser (Coal), Planning Commission, Room No. 345, Yojana Bhavan, Tel No. 23096743, will be the Nodal Officer for this Working Group in the Planning Commission and further query/correspondence in this regard may be made with him.