Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Land Relations

Dated 13th March 2006

It has been decided to set up a Working Group on Land Relations for formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

II. The composition of the Working Group is as under:

1. Shri D. Bandyopadhyay Executive Chairperson, Council for Social Development, New Delhi GD-89, Sector-III, Salt Lake, Kolkata - 700106. Tel: 033-23348534 Chairperson
2. Prof. Amit Bhaduri Professor Emeritus, Council for Social Development, 53 Lodhi Estate, New Delhi - 110003. Member
3. Prof. R.S. Rao B-13, University Quarter, Centre University Post Office, University of Hyderabad, Gachibouli, Hyderabad. Member
4. Shri P.V. Rajagopal Ekta Parishad, Gandhi Peace Foundation, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg, New Delhi. Member
5. Shri Balaji Pandey, Institute of Socio-Economic Development 28, Dharma Vihar, Bhubaneswar - 751030 Orissa. (Tel. No. 0674 - 470302) Member
6. Prof. V.S. Vyas Chairman, Institute of Development Studies (IDS), 8 B Jhalana Institutional Area, Post Box - 636, Jaipur - 302004. Member
7. Shri Kancha Illiah Professor of Political Science, Osmania University, Hyderabad. Member
8. Prof. Bina Aggarwal Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi University, Delhi - 110007. Member
9. Shri Subhash Lomte National Convenor, National Campaign Committee For Rural Workers, 125, Samrath Nagar, Aurangabad - 431 001 (Maharashtra) Tel: 0240-2338972 Mobile : 09422202203 Member
10. Shri B.S.Lalli, Secretary, Ministry of Panchayati Raj, New Delhi Member
11. Dr. Arvind Virmani,  Principal Adviser (DP),  Planning Commission,  New Delhi Member
12. Shri V.S.Sampath, Director General, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderbad. Member
13. Shri Rajeev Chawla Secretary/Settlement Commissioner , Government of Karnataka. Member
14. Shri Aurobindo Behera Secretary (RD), Government of Orissa. Member
15. Shri T. C. Benjamin Settlement Commissioner, Government of Maharashtra. Member
16. Shri Sukumar Das Land Reforms Commissioner, Government of West Bengal. Member
17. Shri Lambor Rynjah Addl. Secretary, Deptt. of Land Resources, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001. Convener-Member

III. The Terms of Reference of the working Group will be as follows:

  1. Modernisation of land management with special reference to updating of land records, proper recording of land rights and speedy resolution of conflicts and disputes relating to land.
  2. Use of modern technological developments for on-line maintenance of land records and demarcation and digitization of land boundaries.
  3. To analyse the agrarian and related economic causes for the rural unrest prevailing in a number of States and to suggest appropriate remedial measures including the assessment of the efficacy of the current land ceiling laws and their effective implementation.
  4. To examine the issues relating to alienation of tribal lands including involuntary displacement of tribals from their habitats and livelihood for development purposes and to suggest realistic measures for restoration of such lands to them and for economically viable and culturally acceptable resettlement of project affected tribals.
  5. To examine the issue of bringing the tenancy including sub-tenancies into the open and suggest framework to enable cultivators of land to lease in and lease out with suitable assurances for fair rent, security of tenure and with right to resumption.
  6. To examine the development of Land Markets in the present context and suggest for its improvement keeping in view the interests of small and marginal farmers.
  7. To look into the pros and cons of the economics of contract farming to protect the interests of small and marginal farmers and landless agricultural workers and to make them economically viable retaining their autonomous status as free economic agents in the present Indian context, particularly keeping in view some adverse effects noticed in some Latin American and Caribbean countries.
  8. Recommend measures to prevent sale and purchase of agricultural land for speculative and non-agricultural purposes.
  9. Suggest measures for comprehensive implementation of homestead rights.
  10. Any other issue of relevance concerning the agrarian relations in India.
  11. Any other Term of Reference that may be decided by the Working Group in its first meeting.

IV. The Chairman of the Working Group may be set up sub-groups / task forces; if necessary for undertaking in-depth studies and formulation of proposals for the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

V. The expenditure of the official members for attending the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective parent Department/Ministry/Organisations as per the rules applicable to them. The expenditure regarding TA/DA of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission according to the appropriate rules and practices.

VI. The Working Group may co-opt non officials / experts / representatives of other agencies, if required.

VII. The Working Group will submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st July, 2006.