Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Poverty Elimination Programmes

Dated 2nd March 2006

It has been decided to constitute a Working Group on "Poverty Elimination Programmes" for the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

II. The composition of the Working Group is as under:

1 Prof. R. Radhakrishna, Director,  Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research,  Gen. A.K.Vaidya Marg,  Goregaon (East),  Mumbai - 400065 Chairperson
2 Dr. Malini Bhattacharjee  Member,  National Women’s Commission,  Delhi Member
3 Dr. N.C. Saxena,  Commissioner of Petitions Centre for  Equity Studies,  C-17/A, DDA Flats,  Munirka, New Delhi Member
4 Dr. S. Mahendra Dev,  Director,  Centre for Economics and Social Study,  Nizamiah Observatory Campus,  Begumpet,  Hyderabad (Tel, No. 040-6570480) Member
5 Shri Nichiket Mor,  Executive Director,  ICICI Bank Ltd.,  ICICI Bank Towers,  Bandra-Kurla Complex,  Mumbai-400 051. Member
6 Prof. V.M. Rao  22, 7th A-main CHBS  1st layout,  Vijaynagar,  Bangalore - 560040  e-mail : vmrao[at]vsnl[dot]com Member
7 Shri Deep Joshi,  Executive Director,  PRADAN,  3, Community Shopping Centre,  Niti Bagh,  New Delhi - 110049 Member
8 Shri Sarathy Acharya,  Institute of Development Studies,  8-B, Jhalana Institutional Area,  Jaipur-302 004 (Rajasthan) Member
9 Dr. Renuka Viswanathan,  Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development  Government of India Member
10 Shri R. Bandyopadhyay  Adviser (Rural Development)  Planning Commission Member
11 Shri K. Raju, Pr. Secretary (RD)  Govt. of Andhra Pradesh Member
12 Shri K.K. Sinha, Pr. Secretary (RD)  Government of Uttar Pradesh Member
13 Shri Ravi Kota, Secretary  Government of Assam  Department of Agriculture Member
14 Shri T. Nandkumar, Development Commissioner  Government of Jharkhand  Nepal House, Ground Floor,  Doranda, Ranch-834 002.  Jharkhand. Member
15 Shri Alok Chaturvedi  Addl. Finance Commissioner,  Government of Bihar. Member
16 Dr. Amar Singh, Joint Secretary (SGSY), Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India, New Delhi Member-Convener

III. The Terms of Reference of the Working Group will be as follows:

  1. Provide for a strategy for the 11th Five Year Plan for Poverty Elimination and suggest a framework for removal of poverty in a time bound manner.
  2. Suggest a framework for effective coordination of programmes of employment promotion and provision of basic services implemented by different Ministries so as to enhance their efficiency, in both rural and urban areas.
  3. Assess the need for consolidation of poverty programmes; suggest instrumentalities for bundling them, if necessary; and suggest a mechanism to provide flexibility to different States to implement the anti-poverty programmes to suit their state specific needs and requirements.
  4. Assess the performance of self-help movement and suggest measures for improving their effectiveness in providing sustainable livelihood opportunities.
  5. Suggest a strategy for linking bank credits to improve the delivery of bank credits to self-help employment for meeting their requirements for income generation activities and sustainability.
  6. Examine the role of micro finance institutions in improving the delivery of credit to SAGs and suggest measures for strengthening these institutions.
  7. Suggest an effective strategy for capabilities development amongst SHGs and their apex organizations.
  8. Any other term of reference that they would be decided by the Working Group.

IV. The Chairman of the Working Group may set up sub-groups / task forces, if necessary for undertaking in-depth studies and formulation of proposals for the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

V. The expenditure of the official members for attending the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective parent Department/Ministry/ Organisations as per the rules applicable to them. The non-official members will be paid TA/DA by the Planning Commission as per SR 190(a) applicable to Grade-I Officers of the Government of India.

VI. The Working Group may co-opt non-officials / experts / representatives of other agencies, if required.

VII. The Working Group will submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 31st July, 2006.