Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Rural Housing

Dated 31st August 2006

It has been decided to set up a Working Group on " Rural Housing " for the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

II. The Composition of the Working Group is as under:

1. Dr. (Mrs) Renuka Viswanathan, Secretary,Ministry of Rural Development Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001 Chairperson
2. D Shri Rajesh Bhatt, Executive Trustee, Ahmedabad Study Action Group 5 th Floor, Kasmira Chamber, Behind Popular House of Assam Road, Navrang Pura, Ahmedabad - 380009 Telephone No. 079 - 26589093. Member
3. Shri G. Vasudeo, Secretary,Vivekananda Kendra,Natural Resources Development Project (NARDEP) Vivekanandapuram, Kanyakumari Tamil Nadu- 629702. Telephone No. 04652 - 246296. Member
4. Dr. Arun Kumar, President, Development Alternatives, 111/9-Z, Kishangarh, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi-110070,Tel: 91 (11) 2613-4103, 2689-0380, Fax: 91 (11)2613-0817, Email: tara[at]devalt[dot]org Member
5. Shri Aromar Revi, Director,Taru Leading Edge A-1/276, Safdarjung Enclave New Delhi-110029. Tele: 2619 7526,2616 3727. Member
6. Shri S. Mitra,General Secretary, 15 - N, Nelly Sengupta Sarani (Lindsay Street), Forum of Scientists, Engineers and Technologists (FOSET), New CMC Building, 5 th Floor, Kolkata - 700087. Member
7. Shri D. Subrahmanyam, E.D., Human Settlement Management Institute (HSMI), HUDCO House, Lodhi Road, New Delhi Member
8. Shri S. Sridhar, Chairman and Managing Director, National Housing Bank, Core 5 A, 5 th Floor, India Habitat Centre, Lodi Road, New Delhi-110003. Tele: 24642722, Telefax: 24649030, e-mail: nhbcmd[at]bol[dot]net[dot]in Member
9. Shri R. Bandyopadhyay Adviser (RD) Planning Commission New Delhi-110001 Member
10. Shri Ram Lubhaya, Principal Secretary, Department of Rural Development, Government of Rajasthan, Jaipur - 302004,
Tele. No. 2227654.
11. Shri Aurobindo Behera Principal Secretary (RD) Government of Orissa Bhubneshwar. - ! £ "/ « > oj Tele: 2536740 Mobile: 9437015078 Member
12. Shri G. B. Panda, Adviser (Social Welfare), Planning Commission, New Delhi-110001 Member
13. Ms. Nilam Sawhney, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001 Member Secretary

III. The Terms of Reference of the Working Group will be as follows:

  1. To look into the aspect of 'Right to Shelter', as it exists in the Constitution, the obligations and entitlements of the citizens of India, with special emphasis on rural India.
  2. Assessment of the existing rural housing schemes both at the Central and State levels.
  3. To look into the issues of diversity, cost norms specially related to vulnerable areas (like the earthquake prone areas) and community specific issues related to rural housing.
  4. Visualising and presenting a viable role for Government agencies in terms of facilitating the convergence of land, finance, technology and delivery systems so that access to shelter for the rural poor is simplified.
  5. To facilitate the use of cost effective, environment friendly and energy saving technologies in the construction of dwelling units in rural areas.
  6. Achieving a synthesis between R and D institutions, financial institutions and implementing agencies in the planning and development of rural housing .
  7. To outline a National strategy / Road Map for handling the problem of rural shelterlessness and suggest administrative legal, fiscal and any other operational changes required so that the problem of rural shelterlessness can be overcome by the end of the Eleventh Five Year Plan Period.

IV. The Chairman of the Working Group may set up sub-groups / task forces, if necessary for undertaking in-depth studies.

V. The expenditure of the official members for attending the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective parent Department/Ministry/Organisations as per the rules applicable to them. The expenditure regarding TA/DA of non-official Members will be borne by the Planning Commission according to the appropriate rules and practices.   

VI. The Working Group may co-opt non-official experts / representatives of other agencies if required.

VII. The Working Group will submit its final report to the Planning Commission by 30th November, 2006. This date cannot be extended in view of the time
schedule of the Eleventh Five Year Plan Formulation .