Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Railway Programmes

Dated 24th March 2006

I. In the context of the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012), it has been decided to set up a Working Group on Railway Programme . The composition of the Working Group will be as follows:


Shri J.P. Batra, Chairman, Ministry of Railways.



Shri Shiv Dasan , Financial Commissioner (Railways) Ministry of Railways.



Shri R.R. Bhandari , Member (Mechanical), Ministry of Railways.



Shri R.R. Jaruhar , Member (Engineering), Ministry of Railways.



Shri R.S. Varshneya , Member (Staff), Ministry of Railways.



Shri Ramesh Chandra, Member (Electrical) Ministry of Railways.



Shri S.B. Ghosh Dastidar .Member (Traffic), Ministry of Railways.



Shri Ashok Kumar, Executive Director (Planning) Ministry of Railways.



Shri J.P. Shukla , Managing Director, Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd. (RVNL), C 2/10, Safdarjung Development Area, Aurobindo Marg , New Delhi- 110016.



Shri B.N. Puri , Adviser (Transport), Planning Commission



Representative of Ministry of Finance



Representative of Department of Shipping,



Representative of Department of Road Transport and Highways



Representative of Ministry of Coal



Representative of Ministry of Steel



Representative of Ministry of Power



Representative of Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion



Representative of Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas



Representative of Department of Fertilisers



Representative of Department of Commerce



Shri R.Gopala Krishanan, Executive Director, Tata Group of Industries, Bombay House, 24, Homi Modi Street, Mumbai - 400 001.



Shri A. Ramakrishna, Deputy Director General Larsen and Toubro Group (L and T), ECC Construction Group, Mt. Poonamallee Road, Manapakkam , P.O. Box No. 979, Chennai- 600089.



Dr. Amit Mitra, Secretary General, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Federation House, Tansen Marg , New Delhi



Shri N. Srinivasan , Director General, India Habitat Centre, Confederation of Indian Industry, 23, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi- 110003.



Shri CM. Khosla Ex-Member, Railway Board 128, Sunder Vihar, New Delhi-110003.



Shri Anup Singh, 16-A, Palam Marg, Vasant Vihar, New Delhi -110057.



Shri S.K. Suri , Addl. Member( Planning), Ministry of Railways.


II. Terms of Reference :

  1. To evaluate the physical and financial performance of the Railways during the Tenth Plan. This would, inter alia , include assessment of various policy initiatives undertaken with regard to development of rail network, optimal utilization of transport capacity already created; improvement in quality of services, technological upgradation and modernization of rail infrastructure etc.
  2. To project traffic targets both passenger and freight during the Eleventh Plan, in the light of the transport requirement of the projected rate of growth of the economy.
  3. To formulate detailed physical plan which may include total spillover schemes of Tenth Plan as well as other new schemes proposed to be taken up during the Eleventh Plan.
  4. To suggest policies for creation of time-bound world class rail infrastructure in the context of emerging economic imperatives of globalization of Indian economy. The policy framework may focus on :
    1. Identification of growth areas and accordingly assess the requirement of augmentation of capacity to meet the traffic requirement of the high growing economy by providing quality service at competitive costs.
    2. Specific measures for technological upgradation and modernisation of rail infrastructure to make it world-class.
    3. Improving safety in rail operations to meet the world standards.
    4. Measures to carry out organizational reforms such as making production units as profit centres and outsourcing of non-core activities.
    5. Regulatory mechanisms for tariff setting including the need for setting up a tariff regulatory authority as well as rebalancing of tariffs by rational indexing of the line haul cost to the tariff.
    6. Measures for encouraging public partnership involving State Govts., local bodies, ports etc. and public-private partnership in the capacity augmentation of rail infrastructure and also to identify areas for such partnership. The quantum of likely investment during 11th Plan through such partnership could also be estimated by the Group.
  5. To identify measures to improve capacity augmentation on high density corridors as well as increase in the average speed of trains by following corridor based approach with clear cut indications of individual components within the particular corridor for improving the quality and reliability of services. The possibilities of construction of Dedicated Freight Corridors on the pattern of Eastern and Western Corridors may also be examined by the Group.
  6. To suggest measures for improving the sanitation and other passenger amenities at the stations as well as in trains and modernization of coaches. The Working Group may also suggest measures for improvement of average speed of trains in passenger segment along with improvement in quality and reliability of services.
  7. To assess total requirement of funds to meet the investment requirement of various Railway sector programmes during the Eleventh Plan. The Group will also suggest measures for mobilization of resources with specific focus on internal resources of Railways. The quantum of Budgetary Support required to supplement the resources of Indian Railway for financing the Railway Plan may also be estimated.
  8. To assess the requirement of funds for replacement and renewals of railway assets and new additions to the system to avoid accumulation of arrears.
  9. To assess the progress towards ongoing accounting reforms in Railways.
  10. To identify surplus manpower in certain areas considering the possibilities of technological upgradation, modernization of services and outsourcing of non-core activities. The Working Group may also suggest the specific plan for reduction in the manpower in Railways.
  11. To assess the traffic requirements of the North-east with a view to planning for augmentation of its capacity.

III. Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other Member(s) for the work of the Group.

IV. The Secretary of the concerned Ministry / Department will nominate the representative of their Ministry/ Department and their nominations may be sent to the Chairman of the Working Group.

V. The expenditure of TA/DA of official members in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry to which the official belongs as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. The non-official members of the Working Group will be entitled to TA/DA as permissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India under SR 190(a) and this expenditure will be borne by the Ministry of Railways.

VI. The Working Group is required to submit its report by 31st August , 2006. Ministry of Railways will provide Secretariat for the Working Group.