Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Horticulture, Plantation Crops and Organic Farming

Dated 7th June, 2006

It has been decided to constitute a Working group on Horticulture, Plantation Crops and Organic Farming in the context of formulation of the Eleventh Five year Plan (2007-2012). The composition and terms of reference of the Working Group are as follows :

I. Composition

1. Dr. K.L. Chadha 10/7281, VasantKunj, New Delhi. Chairman
2. Dr. S.P.S. Khanuja, Director, CIMAP, P.O. CIMAP, Near Kukrail Picnic Spot, Lucknow-226015. Member
3. Dr. K.V. Peter, Vice Chancellor, Kerala Agricultural University, Vellanikara , Trichur-680656, Kerala Member
4. Mr. Vasudev Banerjee, Chairman, Tea Board, 14, Biplabi Trailokya Maharaj, Sarani ( Brabourne Road), Calcutta-700 001. Member
5, Mr. G.V. Krishna Rao, Chairman Coffee Board, No.1, Dr. AmbedkarVeedhi, Bangalore-560 001 Member
6. Shri K.S. Moni, Chairman Agricultural and Processed Food Export Development Authority (APEDA), NCUI Building, 3, Siri Institutional Area, August Kranti Marg, ND-16 Member
7. Shri S.K. Pattanayak Jt . Secretary (N.H.M.), Deptt. Of Agriculture and Cooperation, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi. Member
8. Chairman, NABARD Bandra Kurla Complex, Plot NO. C-24, 5th Floor, "A" Wing, Bandra (East), Mumbai. Member
9. Shri Sopan Kanchan President, Confederation of Indian Horticulture and Grapes Growers Association of India, E-15, Nisarg, Market Yard, Gultkedi, Pune-411 037. Maharashtra . Member
10. Shri K. Natarajan, President, Flowers Growers Federation of India, Natural Synergies Ltd., 20 (Old 156), Santhome High Road, Chennai-600 004. Member
11. Shri P.M. Sinha Chairman, Agriculture and Rural Development Committee, F.I.C.C.I., B-787, Sushant Lok Phase-I, Gurgaon, Haryana. Member
12. Shri E.B. Sethna, President, United Plantations Association of South India (UPASI), Glen View, Coonoor-643 101. Karnataka. Member
13. Shri J.N. Chamber, Managing Director, National Horticulture Board, 85. Sector-18, Institutional Area, Gurgaon. Haryana . Member
14. Shri T.A. More Director (Research) Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli-415 712, District Ratnagiri, Maharashtra. Member
15. Director Indian Institute of Horticulture Research, Hessarghata , Bangalore. Member
16. Dr. Tapan Dutta, Adviser ( Agril.) to Chief Minister of Assam, ARIASP Society, Khanapara, Guwahati-22, Assam. Member
17. Secretary, Ministry of Food Processing Industries - Panchsheel Bhavan, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi. Member
18. Dr. H.P. Singh, Vice-Chancellor, Rajendra Agricultural University, PUSA, Distt. Samastipur, Bihar. Member
19. Dr. R.B. Singh, Member, National Commission on Farmers, NAS Complex, Todapur, PUSA-110 012. Member
20. Adviser (Agriculture), Planning Commission, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi. Member
21. Ms. Rugmini Parmar, Director, Deptt. Of Expenditure, North Block, New Delhi. Member
22. Shri D.D. Bharamagoudra, President, Organic Farming Association of India, G-8, St. Britto's Apts., Feira Alta, Mapusa-403 507 ,Goa. Member
23. Dr. M.L Choudhary, Horticulture Commissioner, Deptt. of Agri. and Coopn., Ministry of Agriculture, R.No. 238, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi. Member- Convenor

II. Terms of Reference

  1. To analyze the performance and evaluate the progress in Horticulture and plantation crops in terms of objectives, thrusts, interventions, programs and milestones attained during X Five Year Plan and to suggest strategies / programmes for the XIth Plan,
  2. To   examine   the   significant   research   achievements   in horticulture /  plantations in the Xth Plan and to scrutinize the status of availability of quality planting material   for the requirement of the National Horticulture Mission,
  3. To  evaluate the impact of hi-tech horticultural practices and to review the present status of technology dissemination mechanism and suggest future
  4. strategies ,
    To   evaluate   the   present  marketing   networks   and   post   harvest management systems operating in the country and suggest   measures to reduce losses and improve the infrastructure for the post harvest handling, storage , marketing and exports,
  5. To evaluate the performance of horticultural and plantation exports and suggest suitable measures to enhance the visibility of Indian produce in the global market and to analyze the impact of WTO and suggest suitable measures to protect the interests of Indian farmers,
  6. To review the existing status of small and marginal farmers of horticulture crops and small growers of plantation crops and to identify their needs for development of these sub-sectors including, backyard operations,
  7. To critically review the current database on horticulture and plantations and suggest improvements .
  8. To analyse the impact of HRD programmes implemented during the X Plan and   suggest   measures  to   adequately  equip   personnel   to   meet  the challenges in the changing scenario,
  9. To analyse public and private investment in the Horticulture and plantations sectors and suggest ways of improving financial and other support to them.
  10. To develop a strong market intelligence and forecasting mechanism to provide a competitive edge to the Indian farmers,
  11. To study the present mechanism of risk assessment in the horticulture and plantation sector and suggest appropriate measures to minimize the risk in horticulture sector,
  12. To study the nature, scope and progress of organic farming with respect to horticulture and plantation crops and to suggest measures to promote such products in the international markets,
  13. To analyse the problems of the plantation sector with specific reference to tea, coffee, spices and rubber, especially in the backdrop of volatile international   prices, and to assess the effectiveness of government programmes/ assistance in ameliorating the situation.

2.  To assist the Working Group in its task, separate Sub-groups on specific aspects may be formed by the Chairman of the Working Group. The Sub -Groups will furnish their reports to the Working Group. The Chairman of the forking Group may also co-opt officials and experts as considered necessary.

3.  The Working group will submit its interim report to the Planning Commission latest by 31 July, 2006 and final report by October, 2006.

4. Non-officials shall be entitled to TA/DA as permissible to Grade-I officers of Government of India and the expenditure will be borne by Planning Commission. The TA/DA of Government and public sector officials will be borne by their respective organisations.

5. The undersigned will be the nodal officer of this Working Group and may be contacted at the numbers /e-mail given below fr any query/clarification with regards to this Working Group.