Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Agro-climatic Zonal Planning including Agricultural Development in North Eastern India

Dated 8th June, 2006

In pursuance of PC Division's UO No. 11016/4/2005-PC dated 24/01/2006 in the context of formulating Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012), it has been decided to constitute a Working Group on Ago-climatic Zonal Planning including Agricultural Development in North Eastern India with the following composition and Terms of Reference: S. Composition:


Dr. Punjab Singh, Vice Chancellor, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi and former Secretary, DARE and DG, ICAR



Dr. (Mrs.) Rita Sharma, .Additional Secretary and FA DARE and ICAR, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001



Dr. J.S. Samra, DDG (NRM), Natural Resource Management Division, Krishi Anusandhan Bhavan-ll, Pusa, New Delhi-110012; Email: jssamra[at]icar[dot]org[dot]in



Dr. Nagendra Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology, Jammu , 180012, J and K Email: vc_nsharma[at]rediffmail[dot]com



Dr. S.N. Puri, Vice Chancellor, Central Agriculture University, PO Box: 23, lmphal-795004, Manipur. Email: snpuri04[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]in; snpuri[at]rediffmail[dot]com



Dr. G.S. Dubey, Director of Research, Birsa Agriculture University, Kanke, Ranchi-834006, Jharkhand Email: vc_bau[at]rediffmail[dot]com



Dr. B.S. Dhillon, Director of Research, Punjab Agriculture University, Ludhiana-141 004; Email: vcpau[at]glide[dot]net[dot]in



Dr. Pratap Singh, Director of Research, Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur, Rajasthan-313001; Email: vcmptau[at]sancharnet[dot]in



Dr. K.P. Singh, Director (Extension), GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar-236145, Uttranchal.



Dr. C. Ramasamy, Tamil Nadu Agriculture University, Coimbatore-614003, Tamil Nadu Email: vc[at]tnau[dot]ac[dot]in



Shri Atul Sinha, Member-Secretary, National Commission on Farmers, Office Block, II floor, NASC, Complex, Opposite Todapur village, Pusa, New Deihi-12



Shri Arvind Xaushai, Joint Secretary, Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001



Dr. V.S. Nadagoudar, Director of Extension, University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka: Email: sapatil_uas[at]rediffmail[dot]com



Dr. R.C. Maheshwari, ADG (TC and Zonal Committees) ICAR, Krishi Anusandhan Bhavan, Pusa, New Delhi-110012



Dr. A.K. Mehta, Zonal Coordinator, Zonal Coordinator, Zone-I, PAU, Ludhiana 141 004



Shri Satish Chandra, Joint Secretary (INM), DAC, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001: Email:



Joint Secretary,DONER,Vigyan Bhawan Annexe, New Delhi-110001.



Dr. C. Prasad, Former DDG( Extension), ICAR.



Dr. R.K. Gupta, Regional Facilitator, CIMMYT-RWC, NASC complex, DP Shastri Marg, New Delhi-110012



Dr. N.B. Singh, Agriculture Commissioner, DAC, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001



Dr. K.N. Tiwari,   133, Sector 23, Krishi Kunj, Guagaon-122017, Haryana.



Dr. O.P. Rupela, Senior Scientist-ll, ICRISAT, Patancheru- 502324, Andhra Pradesh: Email: o[dot]rupela[at]cgiar[dot]org



Secretary, Agriculture, Government of Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal;



Secretary of Agriculture, Government of Gujarat, Gandhinagar;



Secretary of Agriculture, Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad



Director of Agriculture, Government of Kerala, Trivandarum



Member-Secretary, NEC, Shillong



Dr. G.R. Desai, Director, MANAGE, Rajnendranagar, Hyderabad-500030 Email: grdesai[at]manage[dot]gov[dot]in



Dr. Rugmini Parmar, Director (Plan Finance), Department of Expenditure, North Block, New Delhi-110001



Dr. V.V. Sadamate, Adviser (Agriculture), Planning Commission, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi-110001: Email: sadamate1[at]nic[dot]in



Secretary (Agriculture), Government of Tripura, Agartala. .



Secretary (Agriculture), Government of Manipur, Imphal



Director (Horticulture), Government of Mizoram, Aizwal



Director (Horticulture)^ Government of Nagaiand, Kohima



Secretary (Animal Husbandary), Government of Arunachal Pradesh , Itanagar.



Secretary(Agriculture), Government of Meghalaya, Shillong



Secretary (Agriculture), Government of Sikkim, Gangtok



Dr. S.S. Bhagel, Vice-Chancellor, Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat-785013, Assam



Dr. Jayant Madhab, Ramsa Hill, Kharghuli, Guwahati-781 003, Assam.



Shri D.N. Bezbaruah, Former Editor, the Sentinel, Guwahati, Assam



Director, IARI, Pusa, New Delhi-110012:


II. Terms of Reference (ToRs):

  1. To identify and prioritise the key areas to be addressed under Agro-climatic Regional Planning.
  2. To assess the availability of natural resources and infrastructure necessitated for developing sustainable farming systems and to explore rationalization of region-specific potential for various enterprises.
  3. To Identify the potential of crops and commodities for different agro-climatic regions and suggest measures to exploit the export/ commercial potential by way of reducing the production cost.
  4. To suggest a viable mechanism for technology development, refinement and adoption as also for operationalising development programmes on agro-climatic region basis converging existing arrangements.
  5. To assess the scope for diversification in agriculture and aliied areas so as to harness the ground /surface water potential on sub-zone basis keeping in view the comparative advantage.
  6. To examine the marketing and value addition related bottlenecks in the development of zonal planning and to suggest measures for correcting them.
  7. To assess the performance of the commercial crops in the NE region.
  8. To review programmes for the development of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and fishery and to suggest measures for accelerating the growth of these sectors in NE region.
  9. To study the trends in capital formation and organic farming in NE region.
  10. To review the progress of agricultural development programmes in the North-Eastern States in the 10th Five Year Plan with a view to assessing their impact and suggest improvement.

2. The Working Group may co-opt any other official/non-official expert/representative of any organization as member (s), if required.

3. The Working Group may also examine and address any other issues which are important but are not specifically spelt out in the ToRs. The Working Group may devise its own procedures for conducting its business/ meetings.

4. The expenditure of the official members on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. In case of non-officials, the TA/DA will be borne by the Planning Commission as admissible under SR 190(a).

5. The Working Group will be serviced by the IARI, New Delhi.

6. The Working Group will submit its Interim Report by the end of July, 2006 and Final Report by the end of September, 2006 to the Planning Commission.

7. Dr. (Mrs.) Vandana Dwivedi, Joint Adviser (Agriculture) Planning Commission, Room No. 230, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi-110001, Tel No. 011-23096730, Email: dwivediv[at]nic[dot]in and FAX No. 011-23327703 will be the nodal officer of this Working Group and any further query/ correspondence in this regard may be made with her.