Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

Challenges and Opportunities of Globalization on External Sector

Dated 15th May, 2006

In partial modification of this Commission's earlier order of even No. dated 10th April, 2006, the title and the composition of the Working Group has been modified. The new title of the Working Group would be "Challenges and Opportunities of Globalization". The modified composition of the Working Group is listed below :

2. The Composition of the Working Group would be as follows :

1 Dr. Arvind Virmani, Pr. Adviser (DP and IE) Planning Commission, Yojana Bhawan, Room No.204 New Delhi-110001 Telefax: 23096579 Chairman
2 Shri GK Pillai, Special Secretary (Commerce) Ministry of Commerce and Industry Room No. -143 Udyog Bhawan New Delhi. Tel:23061100 Fax: 23063443 Member
3 Shri Shashank, Ex-Secretary (MEA) C-14,IFS Aptt. Mayur Vihar, Phase-1 Delhi-91 Tel:22750644 shashank-1944@yahoo.w.w Member
4 Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Chief Economic Adviser Ministry of Finance, North Block Room No. 39-A New Delhi. Telefax: 23094818, 23093610, Mobile:9818304758 Member
5 Dr. Suman Berry, Director General NCAER, Parisila Bhavan, 11, IP Estate New Delhi 110002 Tel:233704661 and 23379861, Mobile:9810349677 Fax:23370164 Member
6 Dr. Subhasis Gangopadhyay, Director India Development Foundation, 249-F, Sector-18 Udyog Vihar, Phase-IV, Gurgaon (Haryana) Tel:95124-4014535,Mob:9810606762, Fax:95124-4014080 Member
7 Dr. Surjit Bhalla Principal, Oxus Investment Pvt. Ltd. S-160, 2nd Floor, Panchsheel Park, New Delhi 110017 Tel:51751020-22, Mobile 9810220999 Fax: 26016948 Member
8 Shri Sugata Marjit, Reserve Bank of India Professorm of Industrial Economics Centre for Studies in Social Sciences R-l, Vaishnab Ghata, Patuli Township Kolkata-700094 Member
9 Dr.Rajiv Kumar, Director and Chief Executive ICRIER, Core-6-A 4th Floor, India Habitat Centre Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003 Tel:24645218-20, Fax:24620180 Member
10 Dr. Nagesh Kumar, Director General, Resarch and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS) Zone- IV B , fourth floor India Habitat Centre , Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003 Tel:24682176; Fax:24682175 Member
11 Shri Bibek Debroy, Secretary-General PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry PHD Houses, 4/2, Siri Institutional Area, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi Tel: 26857747 Mobile 9810115598 Fax : 26855450 Member
12 Dr. Subir Gokarn, Chief Economist, The Centre for Economic Research, CRISIL House, Hindustan Times Building 9th Floor, 18-20, Kasturba Gandhi Marg, New Delhi 110001 Tel: (011) 23721603, 23321086, 23736541 Mob:9810262342  FAX: 011 23721605 Member
13 Dr. Jayanta Roy, Pr. Adviser Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) 23,, Lodhi Institutional Area New Delhi-110003 Tel:24629536(Direct) Fax No. 24626149 E-mail: jayant[dot]roy[at]ciionline[dot]org Member
14 Dr. Kiran Karnik, President NASSCOM, International Youth Centre, Teen Murti, Chanakya Puri Opposite Chanakya Puri Police Station New Delhi. Tel:23015416-19 Fax: 23010199 Member
15 Dr. Ajit Ranade, Group Chief Economist Aditya Birla Management Corp. Ltd. Aditya Birla Centre 1st Floor, C Wing, S.K. Ahire Marg, Worli Mumbai-400 030 Tel: 91-22-56525000/24995000 DID: 56525183/24995183 Fax: 91-22-56525741, 24995741/56525743 e-mail:ajitranade[at]adityabirla[dot]com Website : Member
16 Prof. Sebastian Morris, Indian Institute of Management(IIM), Vastrapur, Ahmedabad -380015 Tel :91792630 7241 FAX: 079-2630 6896, 26306389 Mob : 9824232121 E-mail : morris[at]iimahd[dot]ernet[dot]in Member
17 Dr. K.N. Harilal, Associate Fellow Centre for Development Studies(CDS) Prashant Nagar,Ulloor Trivandrum, Kerala Resi: 91-0471-2317139 (R) ,0471-2448881(off.) Fax: 91-0471-2447137 E-mail: harilal(S), Member
18 Prof. Bharat Ramaswami, Head, Planning Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi Member

3. Terms of Reference of the Working Group remains unchanged as follows:

  1. To identify the new opportunities opened up for Export of Services by the increasing tradability of  services during  the last  twenty  five  years and  the continuing Globalization of Services;
  2. To suggest measures to explore these new opportunities and to meet the new challenges that will emerge;
  3. To  analyse  the evolution of  India's long  term comparative advantage (and disadvantages) in goods (Manufacturing and Agriculture);
  4. To propose domestic reforms and other measures for exploring the current and emerging comparative advantage; and
  5. To consider the main threats and challenges that have arisen or are likely to arise as a result of Globalization.

4. The Chairman of the Working Group may include additional term (s) of reference in consultation with Member (International Economics Division), Planning Commission.

5. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other expert as Member of the Working Group.

6. The Tenure and time line for submission of report of the Working Group shall be determined in accordance with time schedule of preparation of chapter on External Sector of the Document for Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012).

7. The Ministries / Departments concerned with the subject of the Working Group and / or any other professional bodies / experts related to the subject may be invited by the Group to make presentations before the Group on issues in their areas of concern requiring immediate attention of the Government and also on the alternative possibilities that may exist for improving the effectiveness of related policies and programmes.

8. The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group in respect of the official members will be borne by their respective Ministry/ Department. However, in the case of non-official members, they will be entitled for TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I Officials of the Government of India and the expenditure in this regard would be met by the Planning Commission.

9. Mrs. Sutapa Majumdar, Director (IE), Room No. 549, Yojana Bhawan , Sansad Marg , New Delhi -110001 (Telefax: 23096717) will act as Nodal Officer and any further communication in this regard may be made with the Nodal Officer.

10 The Working Group will be serviced by the Planning Commission.