Working Groups for the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

State's Financial Resources

Dated 19 May, 2006

In the context of the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012), it has been decided to set up a Working Group for assessment of State's Financial Resources.

2. The composition of the Working Group is as under:

1) Dr. EAS Sarma Chairman
2) Representative of CAG Member
3) Joint Secretary (PF I), M/o Finance Member
4) Joint Secretary (Budget) Member
5) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of Maharashtra Member
6) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of Assam Member
7) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of West Bengal Member
8) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of Haryana Member
9) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of Karnataka Member
10) Pr. Finance Secretary, Govt, of Rajasthan Member
11) Executive Director (RBI) Member
12) Dr. Mahesh C Purohit, Director, Foundation for Member
Public Economics and Policy Research
13) Shri Haseeb Drabu Member
14) Dr. A. K. Singh, Professor, GIDS, Lucknow Member
15) Dr. (Mrs.) R. Kavita Rao, Senior Fellow, NIPFP Member
16) Director (PPD) Member
17) Sh K.M.M. Alimalmigoti Director (FR) Member Secretary

3. The Terms of Reference of the Working Group are as follows:

  1. To analyse the resource position of the States with particular reference to the implementation of the recommendations of the Twelfth Finance Commission (including replacement of Central Loans by Market Borrowings), fiscal responsibility legislation(s), debt restructuring introduction of VAT, tax on services, flow of EAP funds and other policy changes in that regard;
  2. To examine issues arising from (a) flow of funds from National Small Savings and its related problems; and (b) Establishment of Loan Council;
  3. To examine the basis of distribution of Central plan assistance to States (including the Gadgil-Mukherjee formula and ACAs) and suggest changes if required;
  4. To examine the flow of funds under CSS and suggest methods of integrating them into the scheme of financing of the Plan of the States
  5. To examine the special dispensation provided to Special Category States in the allocation of Central Plan assistance and suggest changes if required;
  6. To examine the relevance of the Plan-Non-Plan distinction in the expenditure in the State governments and to suggest changes if any in the definition of plan expenditure;
  7. To examine the classification of expenditure in terms of 'Revenue' and 'Capital' especially in light of the requirements under the Fiscal Responsibility Act and its implication for plan programmes;
  8. To examine whether, and to what extent, investment by State PSUs financed through Internal and extra-budgetary Resources (IEBR) should continue to form a part of the State Plan.
  9. To examine the role of SPVs, PPP and other innovative methods for additional resource mobilisation by the State governments for financing Plan expenditure
  10. On the basis of the above, to suggest the basis for making projections for 'resources' and 'expenditure' for the States during the Eleventh Plan period;
  11. To prepare and present projection(s) on the scheme of financing for the Eleventh Plan for the States (including UTs with legislature) separately (and combined).

4. The Chairman of the Working Group, if deemed necessary may constitute Sub-Groups and/or co-opt additional members.

5. The expenditure on TA/DA etc. of the official members in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the respective Government/Department/Institutions to which the member belongs. Non-Official Member will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India and this Expenditure will be paid by the Planning Commission.

6. The Working group should endeavour to finalize its report within 4 months from the date of this order.